Library Web Home

Library and Information Science Research Guide

Encyclopedias and Reference Works  |  Find Books  Find Articles
  Web Sites  ListServs  |  Citing Sources

Encyclopedias and Reference Works

The reference collection in Pickler Memorial Library holds a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and guide books for locating general information on topics in library and information science.  These sources are often a good place to begin your research, especially if your topic is unfamiliar to you.  The sources listed below are a small representation of what is available.  Go to the Z shelves in the reference area to see the complete reference holdings regarding libraries and the information field.

Information Industry Directory
REF Z 674.3 E532

Encyclopedia of Library History
REF Z 721 E54 1994

American Library Directory, 5th Edition
REF Z 731 A53

Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers
REF Z 731 D57

International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science
REF Z 1006 I57 1997

Find Books

Truman's library catalog is an online listing of holdings available at Pickler Memorial Library.  Use this to locate books and other materials available on topics related to library and information science.  It is best to begin with a keyword search and then do a narrower search using Library of Congress subject headings.  For instance, starting off with keyword searches such as

library cataloging
informational technology and higher education

can lead to exact subject headings that allow you to do a more specific and accurate search on your topic

Classification, Library of Congress
Educational Technology--United States

To expand your search beyond Pickler's holdings, use MOBIUS to search other academic libraries in Missouri.  You may order books online and and pick them up from the circulation desk, usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty and staff.

Find Articles

Unless otherwise noted, online databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network.

Several databases and indexes (both online and print) are available for locating journal and magazine articles on topics related to library science and information technology.  The online indexes, while more easily searchable, are often limited in the time periods they cover (many go back only to the early 1980s and some not even that far).  Depending on your topic, it may be necessary to rely on print indexes (or a combination of print and electronic sources) to search for most of your articles.  Many of the online indexes provide links to the full text of articles but in many cases you will need to look for the articles in bound copies or on microform.  Use Truman's JournalFinder to determine the availability of journal and magazine holdings, both online and in print.

Be aware that the library science and information technology are broad fields that encompass and overlap with many other subject areas and disciplines.  While Pickler has few specific indexes devoted to this area, many indexes in the humanities, sciences, and computer science touch upon the library and information fields.

Library, Information Science & Technology (LISTA) (EBSCO). 1965+. 
Indexing and abstracting for more than 600 periodicals as well as books, research reports, and conference proceedings in the field of library science and information technology.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.

Reader's Guide Abstracts. 1983+
In Print 1890-Present, Reference Table B: AI 3 .R48
Index of articles from popular magazines.

LexisNexis Academic 
Contains about 5,600 sources. These include the full text of regional, national and international newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals and business publications, marketing reports, biographical information, corporate reports, etc. It also includes major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, as well as articles from law journals.  Can be useful for finding newspaper articles on libraries, information about companies dealing in information technology or innovations, and legal information on issues such as copyright and privacy.

General Science Abstracts, 1984+
In print 1978/79-1995/96:   General Collection Q 158.5 G45
Indexes and abstracts about 160 popular scientific journals.  Some entries on information technology.

Library Literature, 1933-1996
Print Only: General Collection Z 666 L69
Index to journal articles covering all aspects of library science.

Web Sites

American Library Association
Association of College & Research Libraries
Internet Library for Librarians
Internet Public Library
Librarians' Resource Centre---
Special Libraries Association, Toronto Chapter
Librarian's Yellow Pages --- A commercial site for library supplies
Library Resource List
Libweb---Libraries on the World Wide Web
LLRX:  Law Library Resource Exchange
LOEX Clearinghouse for Library Instruction
Missouri Library Association
Missouri Library Network Corporation (MLNC)
MOBIUS Consortium---
Links Missouri academic libraries

Listserv Archives

General reference listserv:  LIBREF-L
General cataloging listserv:  AUTOCAT

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the reference librarian for economics.

Dan McGurk
(660) 785-4528
dmcgurk@truman.edu

dm
 


Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter