Library Web Home

Mathematics & Statistics Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Open Access Publications
| Statistics | Find People | Current Events | Citing Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics  Reference QA 5 W45 2003

Encyclopaedia of Mathematics and Its Applications

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences  General Collection QA 276.14 .E5

MathWorld - an online encyclopedia of mathematics

Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics  Reference  QA 5 F35 1999

International Encyclopedia of Statistics  Reference   HA17 .I63

PRIME Mathematics Encyclopedia

Quick Facts

Handbook of Mathematical Tables and Formulas  Reference QA 47 B8 1972

Mathematics Handbook for Science and Engineering  General Collection QA 41 R34 1995

Find Books

Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on mathematics. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library.  For example, see the following keyword searches:

                                            mathematics and  biology
                                            statistics and regression analysis

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.

WorldCat
A catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.
 

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses.  Obtain the full text of theses written at Truman State University, 1997+.
                                                  
Truman Masters Theses - Biology
This is a link to the Truman State University Library Catalog catalog record for a math theses.  All Truman Masters Theses are available online at Current Research by author, title and faculty advisor from 1997+.
                                                  
Dissertation Abstracts  
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions.  It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts from Masters AbstractsCoverage is 1861 to date.

Find Articles

 The database in this section is restricted to use on the Truman network.

Google Scholar  - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.  Free site.

MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews)

On the Web 1940+
In print 1940-1996:  General Collection QA1 M76
Provides comprehensive coverage of pure and applied mathematics literature, both monographs and journals.  Includes Current Index to Statistics. 

Web Sites

AMSER: Applied Math and Science Education Repository   AMSER is a portal of educational resources geared to community and technical colleges, but free to all.

MathDL -  Visual reinforcement of mathematical concepts through the use of mathlets and OSSLETS (open source, sharable mathlets.  Also includes the Journal of Online Mathematics and Its Applications.  From the Mathematical Association of America's Digital Library,

University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection - This search engine searches through original works of great mathematicians such as Gauss, Bernoulli, Dedekind, Zermelo, Markov, Poincare and Weierstrass. Full-text online.

The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Mathematics
Provides links to all kinds of statistical information.

Woltram Mathworld
A free service for the Mathematical community provided by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.

Statistics

Comprehensive Sites | Government Agencies/Resources | Dataset Web sites
 

Comprehensive Sites

The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Statistics Provides links to all kinds of statistical information.

Statistics on the Web  This is a list of statistics resources on the World Wide Web.

Statistics and Statistical Graphics Resources  
This page provides an annotated, topic-based collection of available resources for statistics, statistical graphics, and computation related to research, data analysis and teaching, now containing over 580 links.

StatSci.org
The Statistical Science Web (StatWeb) is designed to provide an all-in-one guide to statistical science resources, with special attention to Australian resources. At the time of writing, I believe that it is the most active site in Australia devoted to statistical science.

U. S. Government Statistics Websites

Bureau of Labor Statistics  U.S. Department of Labor

FedStats  
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Statistical Resources on the Web  University of Michigan Documents Center

National Center for Education Statistics  
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analysis data that are related to the United States and other nations.

U. S. Census Bureau  United States Department of Commerce

Datasets Websites

Datasets for Data Mining Resources for datasets.

Statistical Reference Datasets  
The purpose of this project is to improve the accuracy of statistical software by providing reference datasets with certified computational results that enable the objective evaluation of statistical software.

StatLib - Datasets Archive

UCLA Statistics Data Sets  A list of links to datasets.

Find People

Biographies | Associations

Biographies

For biographies and  biographical dictionaries about mathematicians consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:

Mathematicians -- Biography.
Mathematicians -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Statisticians -- Biography.

Biographical Web sites

Bibliographies of Women Mathematicians
Mathematicians of the African Diaspora

Mathematicians of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries

Mathographies


Associations

Mathematics Scholarly Societies Project
Statistics Scholarly Societies Project

Current Events

ASA Calendar of Events 
A Searchable Version of the Amstat News Calendar

Mathematics Calendar
A list of upcoming events maintained by the American Mathematical Society.

Citing Sources

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.

Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu

Thank you to Colleen Bullock and Nason Throgmorton, University of Missouri-Columbia for their many contributions to this guide.

cal

 


 

 

 

 


 

cal

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter