TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University

Military Science Research Guide

Encyclopedias and Reference WorksFind Books  Find Articles
  Web Sites  Citing Sources

Encyclopedias and Reference Works

The reference collection in Pickler Memorial Library holds a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources and guide books for locating general information on topics in military science.  These sources are often a good place to begin your research, especially if your topic is unfamiliar to you.  The sources listed below are a small representation of what is available.  Go to the shelves labeled U-UA  in the reference area to see the complete reference holdings in military science.

Harper Encyclopedia of Military Biography
REF U 51 D87 1992

Facts on File Dictionary of Military Science
REF U 24 S47 1989

Dictionary of Soldier Talk
REF U 24 E38 1984

Encyclopedia of the American Military
REF UA 23 E56 1994

International Military and Defense Encyclopedia
REF U 24 I58 1993

Find Books

The Truman Catalog is the online catalog of holdings available at Pickler Memorial Library.  Use this to locate books and other materials available on topics related to military science.  It is best to begin with a keyword search and then do a narrower search using Library of Congress subject headings.  For instance, starting off with keyword searches such as

army aviation
Air Force parajumpers

can lead to exact subject headings that allow you to do a more specific and accurate search on your topic

United States. Army--Aviation--History
United States. Air Force--Parachute Troops

To expand your search beyond Pickler's holdings, use MOBIUS to search other academic libraries in Missouri.  You may order books online and and pick them up from the circulation desk, usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty and staff.

Find Articles

Unless otherwise noted, online databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network.

Military Library FullTEXT--- from EbscoHOST. 
Provides full text for over 340 military related periodicals and general interest magazines.
(After viewing the list of EbscoHOST databases, select Military Library FullTEXT at the bottom of the list.)

America: History and Life 1964+
Abstracts articles, dissertations and reviews on the history of the United States and Canada published throughout the world.

GPO Catalog of Government Publications. 1975+
        Also on the Web through GPO Access, 1974+  Free to the public.
        In print, 1895-1976 Reference Z 1223 A18 (under title Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications)
An index to publications of federal government agencies and  departments, compiled by the Government Printing Office.
 

Web Links

U. S. Department of Defense
Joint Chiefs of Staff
National Security Council
U.S. Air Force
U. S. Army
U.S. Marine Corps
U.S. Navy
U.S. Coast Guard
Air National Guard
Army National Guard

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the reference librarian for military science.

Dan McGurk
(660) 785-4528
dmcgurk@truman.edu

dm

Encouraging Discovery