TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University

Missouri Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |  Find Books Find Articles
Web Sites  |  Statistics

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Official Manual, State of Missouri.  Library has 1989+ in Missouriana Collection.  Latest year only in Reference JK 5430 M5.  Latest year also available online.

 

Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog.  It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project. To make sure that Missouri is in the subject field, put s: in front of it.  For example: 
            s:missouri and education       s:missouri and agriculture and statistics

Also try subject searches for specific places in Missouri or people from Missouri.  For example:
            benton, thomas hart
            joplin, scott
            adair county (mo)
            kansas city (mo)

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.


Find Articles

Indexes/Abstracts

Ozark Periodical Index.  Print only.  1979-1999.  Reference AI 3 O9
America: History & Life*  --- Index to articles on American history and culture from pre-history to present.

Periodicals

Gateway Heritage.  1980+  Periodicals F461 M6227
        Former titles:  Glimpses of the Past.  1933-43.  Missouriana Periodicals F461 M6225
                                 Bulletin of the Missouri Historical Society.  1944-80.  Periodicals F461 M6226
Missouri Archaeologist.  1935+  Periodicals F 468 M55
Missouri Conservationist.  1938+  Missouriana Periodical SK 351 M55
        1995+  also available online.
Missouri Historical Review.  Library has 1906+  Periodicals F 461 M59
Missouri Life.  1973+  Periodicals F 461 M8
        Former title:  Missouri Magazine
Missouri Resources.  1994+  Periodicals TD 171.3 M8 M572
        1999+ also available online.
        Former Title:  Missouri Resource Review.  1982-1994. 
                                Missouriana Periodical TD 171.3 M8 M57
Rural Missouri.  1985+  Missouriana Periodical HD 9688 R9


Newspapers

Kansas City Star
            1901+  Microfilm
            1991+  Online through NewsBank*
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
            1980+  Microfilm
            1988+  Online through NewsBank*
News-Leader (Springfield, MO)
            1999+  Online through NewsBank*
Kirksville newspapers
NewsVoyager - Links to newspapers in Missouri
 

Web Sites  (see also Statistics below)

Show-Me Missouri: State of Missouri's Official Web Site--State government home page with links to all agencies.
Local History and Genealogy Resources---Compiled by Pickler Memorial Library.
Missouri History Museum - St. Louis, MO.
State Historical Society of Missouri - Columbia, MO.
Lawmakers of Northeast Missouri---Compiled by Pickler Memorial Library staff.
Missouri Digital Heritage---jointly administered by the Missouri State Archives and the Missouri State Library, divisions of the Secretary of State's office.  Collecting the history of Missouri.


Statistics

OSEDA (Office of Social & Economic Data Analysis)
Missouri Census Data Center
Statistical abstract for Missouri.  Print 1976-2001 (incomplete) available in Missouriana Collection. 
        Some portions are available online.

Agriculture

Annual crop summary.  1977-2003.  Missouri Documents AG.St 26:
Missouri farm facts.  1976-2002 in Missouri Documents AG.St 8: 
         Former title: Missouri farm census by counties.  Library has 1922-1962 (Incomplete)
                     Missouriana Collection HD 1775 M8 A3
         2003 in Reference  HD 1775 M8 A32.  Latest year also online.

Business and Economics
County business patterns: Missouri 1992+
        Available online 1993+
Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations 

Crime and Law Enforcement
Crime in Missouri.
Missouri crime and arrest digest.  1983+
         1983-2000 in Missouri Documents PS 9.
Missouri crime summary: state, county, city.
         1977-2002    Missouri Documents PS.Hp 8:  (incomplete)         
Missouri uniform crime reporting program 
Missouri juvenile justice court statistics (published under several titles) 
         1946-1985  Missouri Documents  SOC.Fa 9
         1986-2002  Missouri Documents  SOC.Yo 9
Nature and extent of the illicit drug problem in Missouri

Education
Report of the Public Schools of Missouri.  1867+
        Latest edition in Reference TD 171.3 M8 M57
        All earlier years in Missouriana Collection TD 171.3 M8 M57
        2003+ available online
Statistical summary of Missouri higher education. 
        1987/88 -2000/01  Missouriana Collection LA 316.5 S7
        Also available online        

Health
Child fatality review program annual report.  
        1993-2003  Missouri Documents SOC.Fa/Crd 1:
        1998+         Available online
HIV/AIDS newsletter.  Missouri Dept. of Health. 
         1992-1996  Missouri Documents HEA.Ai 7:
Missouri vital statistics
         1973-2002 Missouriana Collection HA 471 M582
         1999+        Available online  
Missouri monthly vital statistics. 
Status report on Missouri's alcohol and drug abuse problems.
        1995-2002  Missouri Documents MH.Alc 2:St 1
        2002+         Available online

Population
Census 2000 data for the state of Missouri.  U.S. Census Bureau.
         Print:  Reference HA 471.5 2000
Missouri, 2000. Summary social, economic, and housing characteristics : 2000 census of population and housing. 
         U.S. Documents
C 3.223/23:2000 PHC-2-27/ 

Social
Child abuse and neglect in Missouri: report.  Missouri Dept. of Social Services. 
         1988-2003    Missouri Documents SOC.Fa/Ch 11  
         2001+             Available online
Children's services annual report.
         1993-2003  Missouri Documents SOC.Fa/Ch 1
         2001+          Available online
Division of Family Services Annual data report. 
         1991-2002   Missouri Documents SOC:Fa 1
         1999+          Available online.

Weather
Climatological data.*  Get daily and annual temperatures and precipitation totals for most cities 1896+. 
Storm event database.  Use this database to find various types of storms recorded in a particular county or use other selection criteria as desired (type of storm, damage, number of fatalities, etc.)
 

*Access restricted to the Truman network.
 

cal

Encouraging Discovery