Music Research Guide
Encyclopedias,
Dictionaries, etc. |
Find Books | Find
Articles
Web Sites |
Citing Sources |
Extended Guide for Music Research Students
Subject Encyclopedias and Subject Dictionaries
Subject encyclopedias can be especially helpful for
obtaining an overview of a topic, information on a person in the field, etc.
Dictionaries usually have shorter entries, most useful for brief definitions of
terms and sometimes abbreviated biographical information. Keep in
mind however, that the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
is actually more encyclopedic in nature, even though it is
called a dictionary.
An entry in a subject encyclopedia will often contain a
bibliography which can lead you to more sources on that topic.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians 6
vols. Reference ML 105 .B16 2001
Baker's Dictionary of Music Reference ML 100
.S635 1997
Encyclopedia of Popular Music 8 vols. Reference
ML 102 P66 G84 1998
International Dictionary of Black Composers 2
vols. Reference ML 105 .I5 1999
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 20
vols. Reference ML 100 N48
Also available online:
Oxford Music
Online
Naxos
Music Library
(electronic resource, access restricted to Truman
users)
Check the
library catalog to locate books on your topic.
When first searching for material, it is best to try several
keyword searches, usually combining several terms that
reflect your interest or topic:
bach AND cantatas
piano AND technique
mozart AND operas
To limit your search further, you can add more terms
with AND, for example:
bach AND cantatas AND secular
bach AND cantatas AND sacred
If you need to broaden your results, identify similar
concepts or variant spellings and combine those using OR:
sonata OR sonatina
clementi AND (sonata OR sonatina)
folksongs OR folk songs
(bernstein OR copland) AND history AND criticism
ballads OR folksong* OR folk song*
A few tips on the keyword searches above:
The asterisk * truncates a term and will retrieve all forms
of the word that follow the truncation symbol. For
example, folksong* will folksong OR folksongs.
The parentheses (called "nesting") allows you to search for
concepts similar in meaning and then combine these
with a different term or terms. Remember to always
place your similar terms within parentheses when using both
AND & OR in one search statement as the examples
show.
Results from your keyword searches that look useful to you
will lead you to appropriate Library of Congress subject
headings. These can help you get even more relevant
material and may help you broaden or narrow your focus, if
you are needing to adjust your search.
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try
your search in
MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.
You can order books online, and they will be delivered
usually within 3-4 working days. This service is
available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.
Back to Top
Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996 : Reference AI 3 S6
Provides citations to articles in 465+ periodicals covering
archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication,
folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual
arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Citations from 1984 to
present and abstracts from 1994 to present. Includes some
non-English publications.
Click
here to show journal list.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance. Years
vary by journal title
A not-for-profit research project providing citations from
selected interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle
Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. 1969+
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature
Musicale.
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals in music. Citations to
articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations,
discographies, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften. Majority
of citations include abstracts. Contains records in over 200
languages.
Click
here to show journal list.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO). 1985+.
A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800
journals in all areas of academic study--social sciences,
humanities, etc.
Arts and Humanities Search (Arts & Humanities Citation
Index). 1980+
Provides citations to the world's leading arts and
humanities journals. Over 1,300 sources covered.
Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews.
Click
here to show journal list.
Click
here for a list of current music periodical subscriptions in
Pickler Memorial Library.
Back to Top
All-Music Guide--"Comprehensive
Guide to all forms of popular music and musicians. . .searchable by artist name,
album or song title, music genre, or record label. . .biographies, reviews."
CHOICE Reviews, June 2006
Center for the History of Music
Theory and Literature. Several searchable databases, including the
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology. Indiana University.
Classical Net--Covers
all aspects of classical music. Includes many commercial and noncommercial
links.
DW3 Classical Music Resources--From Duke University, approximately 1500
web sites covering scholarly biographical and historical data--all musicological
periods.
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music and World Music -- From the University of
Washington Music Department. Links to institutions, archives and research
centers; online periodicals and publications; recordings; various sites by
geographical region.
Guide to Music Information
Resources -- Prepared for students at Truman State University. Provides
an in-depth guide to resources in Pickler Memorial Library.
Historic American Sheet
Music, 1850-1920-- Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library
at Duke University. Provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces
published in the United States between 1850 and 1920. "Outstanding Title!
[internet resource]"
CHOICE Magazine, March 2001
Internet Resources for Music Scholars-- Loeb Music Library, Harvard
University. Maintains a list of links to more than 300 scholarly music
resources on the Internet.
The Lester S. Levy
Sheet Music Collection--Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Johns Hopkins
University. An index to 29,000 pieces of American sheet music published between
1780 and 1980. An image of the cover and each page of music is retrieved if
the piece was published before 1923 and is in the public domain. "Outstanding
Title! [internet resource]"
CHOICE Reviews, October 2000
MENC: The National Asociation for
Music Education--"Provides music educators, students, and musicianswith
information on . . .education standards, career opportunities, financial aid,
state-run festivals, teacher's guides, and more."
College and Research
Libraries News, December 2005
Music Library Association Obituary Index--online version of the obituary
citations published annually in the quarterly journal
Notes.
Music Trader links--Music Trader is for people interested in all aspects
of the music industry, especially musical instrument repair and crafting.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia--"The Library of Congress provides this
resource as a means of access to its vast collection in the performing arts. .
.allows browsing by name, subject, or specific collection.. . .links to online
digitized resources and databases. . .links to featured events and Webcasts of
performances. . .Anyone researching music, theatre, or dance will find it
invaluable. . .Highly recommended." M.W. Wildman, SUNY College at
Cortland. CHOICE Reviews, February 2007.
The Red Hot Jazz Archive--Provides
in streaming audio format more than 1,000 significant recordings by King Oliver,
Louis Armstrong, Jelly Roll Morton, Duke Ellington and others. Includes
biographies and other information.
Southern Mosaic--"From the Library of Congress American Memory
project, this is a searchable site documenting a recording expedition by Archive
of American Folk Song curator, John Lomax and his wife Ruby. . .ballads, blues,
fiddle tunes spirituals. . .photo archive." College and Research
Libraries News, December 2005
Worldwide Internet Music Resources, provided by the William and
Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University. Access to table of
contents and abstracts of many music magazines and journals is provided.
Music Sites Reviewed by Lindsay Hansen, Music and Media
Librarian, Oviatt Library, California State University-Northridge.
(See full reviews in Hansen, Lindsay. "Music to Researchers' Ears: Ten Top Sites
for Researching Music." Online 31.6 (2007): 15-21. Academic Search
Elite EBSCOhost. 22 Feb. 2008 <www.epnet.com>)
Black Grooves: Archives of African
American Music and Culture
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
Great Conversations in Music-A Series of Films Hosted by Eugene Istomin
Instrument Encyclopedia
Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues
Metropolitan Opera-Sounds of the Met
National Geographic World
Music
Neue Mozart Ausgabe (The
default language may be German but should be able to choose English)
(Two sites have been left off this list.The International Music Score Library
Project, has been left off this list because it is no longer operational
since Hansen's article was printed. See this wikipedia article for more
information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Music_Score_Library_Project)
The Beethoven-Haus Bonn has been left off because the link listed in the
article did not work).
Back to Top
Citing Sources
There are several style manuals available in the
library:
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual
for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996
APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001
MLA Style
MLA Handbook
for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides and
information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click
here.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference
Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian
for Music, Lisa Glaubitz, at (660) 785-7412, or email
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg