Library Web Home

Physics Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites | Open Access Publications | Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

AllRef Reference Physics Encyclopedia

Annotated Physics Encyclopaedia

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics  Reference QC 5 M15 1996

McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Physics  Reference QC 5 M425 1993

Physics Dictionary

Glossarist: physics glossaries and physics dictionaries

Quick Facts

Handbooks | Spectral Data
 

Handbooks

American Institute of Physics Handbook  Reference QC 61 .A5 1972

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  Reference QD 65 .H3

Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures.  Reference QC 94 C295 2003

Fundamental Physical Constants
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.

Handbook of Physics   QC 61 .H37 2002

Physics Quick Reference Guide  Reference QC 61 .C65 1996

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition) QC 61 S6 1954
901 tables concentrating on a broad scope of common physical and chemical data.


Spectral Data

Infrared Spectra of Inorganic Compounds   QC 457 .N93 1971

SDBS (Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds)
SDBS, provided by the National Institute of Materials and Chemical Research (Japan) is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds.

Spectral Data for Organic Compounds

 

Find Books

Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on physics. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library.  For example, see the following keyword searches:

                                            special relativity and cosmology
                                            gravity and universe

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.

WorldCat
A catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.
 

Dissertations
                                                  
Dissertation Abstracts  
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions.  It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts from Masters AbstractsCoverage is 1861 to date.

Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

General Science Abstracts, 1984+
In print  1978/79-1995/96:   General Collection Q 158.5 G45
Indexes about 135 popular scientific journals. 

Google Scholar  - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.  Free site.

ingenta\UnCover 
In online articles delivery service, a table of contents database, and a keyword entry index to nearly 20,000 periodicals.  Free to the public.

INSPEC
Online 1969+ on DIALOG.  Must have password. Ask Librarian for details.
The major source of information on worldwide literature of physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. 

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.

NASA Astrophysics Data System - Indexes:

Physical Review Online Archive - 1893 - to present.  A full text archive of articles from  Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.

SciSearch

Online 1974+ on DIALOG.  Must have password.  Ask Librarian for details.
A multidisciplinary database of 4,500 science journal indexing.  Citation indexing is included. 

 

SPIN/Scitation 1893+
One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites | Government Agencies/Resources

Comprehensive Sites

Los Alamos E-Print Archive  arXiv.org ePrint archive
Electronic archive and distribution service for research papers. 

NASA
is an extensive collection of information related to the nation's space program and the cosmos.

Yahoo!Science: Physics
Metasite for Internet resouces, organized by physics discipline.

PhysLINK.com - The Ultimate Physics Resource


SciCentral: gateway to the best science and engineering online resources

Scirus

Government Agencies/Resources

European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN).

Fermi National Accelerator Lab     High-energy physics laboratory.  Home of the world's most powerful particle accelerator, the Tevatron.  Information on the lab's experiments and research.

National High Magnetic Field Laboratory  Information and tour of the NHMFL facility, along with links to other NHMFL World Wide Web servers and other physics related lists.

National Institute of Standards and Technology  Information about programs and contacts at the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Particle Data Group DatabasesThe PDG, an international collaboration centered at Lawrence Berkley Laboratory, reviews the field of particle physics, and compiles and analyzes data on particle properties.  It publishes and distributes the "Review of Particle Properties".

SIMBAD astronomical database - information on 3.3 million astronomical objects including stars, clusters of stars, nebulae, novae, spernovae, galaxies, and clusters of galaxies.  From the French Centre doe Donnees astronomiques de Strasbourg.

Standard Linear Accelerator Center  Information about SLAC physics, computing and other information resources.  Research in elementary particle physics using electron beams, plus a broad program of research in atomic and solid state physics, chemistry, biology and medicine using synchrotron radiation.

Science.gov - a catalog of government science and technology Web sites  from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

 

Find People

Biographies | Biographical Web Sites | Directories | Associations

For biographies and  biographical dictionaries about scientists consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:

African American scientists.
African American women scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Scientists -- Biography -- Indexes.
Scientists -- Canada -- Biography.
Scientists -- United States -- Biography.
 

Biographical Web sites

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics. An archive of more than 80 citations of women who contributed to physics in the 20th century created by the UCLA Department of Physics.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name or discipline.

Famous Physicists. Yahoo’s index of sites of famous physicists, such as Richard Feynman, Niels Bohr, and Marie Curie.

ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.

Nobel e-Museum Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.

Nobel Prize Internet Archive Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.

Directories

HEP Virtual Phonebook. This High Energy Physics directory has links to phone books and directories of HEP sites or experiments around the world compiled by the HEP Network Resource Center.

 

Associations

Acoustical Society of America-Acoustics.org
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Institute of Physics

American Physical Society

Biophysical Society
Council on Undergrad
uate Research
European Physical Society
Institute of Physics
Resources of Scholarly Societies— Physics

Current Discussions

Scientific Meetings
Newswise Calendar of Scientific Meetings


Science News
EurekAlert!
News site sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Physics Central - includes People in Physics, Physics News, Physics in Pictures, Physics Links, How Something Works, and Essays by Physical Authors

PhysicsWorld.com - Gateway to physics information on the Internet.

 PhysLINK
Gateway to physics sites.  Includes constants, history, news, and jobs

Sci-Bytes
A what's new in research site sponsored by ISI.  Includes hot papers and journal rankings in selected fields.

Science News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New York Times.

 

Citing Sources

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.

Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu


Thank you to Janice Dysart, University of Missouri Columbia for her many contributions to this guide.

 

 cal

 


Last Modified 02 March 2008
Hit Counter