TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University

Political Science Research Guide

Encyclopedias and Reference WorksFind Books  Find Articles
  Web Sites  Citing Sources

Encyclopedias and Reference Works

The reference collection in Pickler Memorial Library holds a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources and guide books for locating general information on political science topics.  These sources are often a good place to begin your research, especially if your topic is unfamiliar to you.  The sources listed below are a small representation available.  Go to the J shelves in the reference area to see the complete reference holdings in political science.

Dictionary of World Politics
JA 61 E85 1990

Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions       
REF JC 491 E63 1998

Governments of the World                          
REF JF 127 P56 1998

Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System
REF JF 501 E53 1994

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
JF 2011 W67 1999

Political Parties of the World
REF JF 2051 D39 2002

Statistical History of the American Electorate
JK 1967 R87 2001

Political Parties and Elections in the United States: An Encyclopedia
REF JK 2261 P633 1991

Encyclopedia of the European Union
REF JN 30 E52 1998

Political Reference Almanac
JK 271 P6 1999/2000

State and Local Government Political Dictionary
JK 2408 E44 1988

Encyclopedia of World Terrorism
HV 6431 E53 2003

Psychology of Terrorism
HV 6431 P798 2002

Find Books

Truman's library catalog is an online listing of holdings available at Pickler Memorial Library.  Use this to locate books and other materials available on political science.  It is best to begin with a keyword search and then do a narrower search using Library of Congress subject headings.  For instance, starting off with keyword searches such as

electoral reform
judicial review and Supreme Court

can lead to exact subject headings that allow you to do a more specific and accurate search on your topic

Campaign funds--Law and legislation--United States
Political questions and judicial power--United States

To expand your search beyond Pickler's holdings, use MOBIUS to search other academic libraries in Missouri.  You may order books online and and pick them up from the circulation desk, usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty and staff.

Find Articles and Statistics

Unless otherwise noted, online databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network.

Several databases and indexes (both online and print) are available for locating journal and magazine articles on politics and government.  The online indexes, while more easily searchable, are often limited in the time periods they cover (many go back only to the early 1980s and some not even that far).  Depending on your topic, it may be necessary to rely on print indexes (or a combination of print and electronic sources) to search for most of your articles.  Many of the online indexes provide links to the full text of articles but in many cases you will need to look for the articles in bound copies or on microform.  Use Truman's JournalFinder to determine the availability of journal and magazine holdings, both online and in print.

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Indexes to American and Canadian history (American: History and Life) and world history (Historical Abstracts).  Indexes major state, national, and international historical journals and contains some texts to full text articles in JSTOR.

China Data Online.  1949+
Historical statistics as well as monthly and yearly macro-economic data from the China Data Center.  Password needed.  Inquire at the Reference Desk.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Social Sciences Abstracts. 1983+
In print 1907-1983: Ref AI 3S6 Covers about 550 journals in the areas of anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, geography, international relations, law, political science, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, and related topics.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
Full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals.  It also includes federal and state case law, law reviews and other legal information. 

LEXIS-NEXIS Congressional index 1970s+, full text late 1980s+
U.S. legislative information including full text of Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.

CIS Congressional Masterfile, 1789-1982
On CD-ROM workstation in Reference Area

An index to Congressional hearings and reports. The hearings are filed by CIS number in microfiche in the microform room on the first floor. Click here for CIS microfiche finding aids.

Europa World--Online version of the Europa World Year Book.  Contains political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.

GPO Catalog of Government Publications. 1975+
        Also on the Web through FDsys-Federal Digital System, 1974+  Free to the public.
        In print, 1895-1976 Reference Z 1223 A18 (under title Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications)
An index to publications of federal government agencies and  departments, compiled by the Government Printing Office.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin American studies by Library of Congress.  Free access on the Internet.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), 1970+
In Print 1970 - 1995: General Collection F 1408 H3

Covers Latin American studies and Hispanics in the United States. 


Pro-and-Con.org.  1998+
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest,  Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
Library has printed volumes of Congressional Digest (Periodicals JK 1 C65), 1921+, Supreme Court Debates (Periodicals KF 4546 A3 S86), 1998+, and International Debates 1994+.

Sociological Abstracts.
1963+
In print 1953-1963: General Collection (Non-Circulating) HM 1 S67
Covers more than 1,900 journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

World News Connection.
English translation of foreign news broadcasting. Password needed. Inquire at Reference Desk.

Web Sites     

Election/Voting (US)  |  Historical  |  International  |  Issues & Polls
Think Tanks (maintained at U of Virginia)  |  US Government Web Sites and Publications
Comprehensive/Misc.  |  A-Z List  |  Link to Law Page

Election/Voting (United States)

Project Vote Smart---comprehensive voting information, including biographies of candidates, elected officials, and their voting records
The Center for Voting and Democracy
Electoral College---including Electoral results since 1789.
Federal Election Commission
National Election Studies---at U. of Michigan
Public Campaign---Organization devoted to promoting campaign finance reform
Open Secrets: The Online Source for Money in Politics Data---by The Center for Responsive Politics, focusing on Congressional campaign contributions.
Voter Information Service
Votes for Women: Selections From the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921

Historical Information

Biographical Directory of the US Congress: 1774-present
Documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention 1764-1789
The Founder's Constitution---Anthology of primary documents and political theories that served as antecedents to the U.S. Constitution of 1789
National Archives & Records Administration---historical documents, photos, pictures, and links to presidential libraries
Presidents of the United States---biographies, documents, cabinet members lists, etc. collected by Internet Public Library

International Information

Africabib---African studies site at U of Arkansas-Little Rock
Canadian Government Information---by National Library of Canada
Centre for Russian Studies' Database---at Norwegian Institute for International Affairs
Council of Europe
Council of European Social Science Data Archives
Country Information by IMF
Country Studies---at Library of Congress
Europa: The European Union
The European Union in the US
G8 Information Center---at U. of Toronto
Governments on the WWW
International Constitutional Law
International Monetary Fund
International Relations and Security Network---a cooperative project with partners all over the world, aiming to provide one-stop information service in international relations and security
Organization of American States
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
United Nations
United Nations Scholar's Workstation---by Yale U.
U.S. Agency for International Development
U.S. Agency for International Development Regions and Countries Studies
    Africa
    Asia & Near East
    Europe & Eurasia
    Latin America & Caribbean
World Bank
World Factbook---country profiles by CIA

Issues and Opinion Polls

Gallup Poll
Public Agenda Online---major social issues and opinions on them
PollingReport.com---recent polls from Gallup, Harris, CBS/NYT, NBC/WSJ, etc.
*Congressional Digest---searchable database of articles from Congressional Digest and Supreme Court Debates.  To search, click on MEMBERS on the home page.

U.S. Government Web Sites and Publications

U.S. Federal Government Web Sites-Executive Branch
U.S. Judicial Branch
U.S. Legislative Branch
U.S. State and Local Governments Web Sites
Government Publications Access:  Internet Publications---List of online publications arranged by issuing agency.

Comprehensive/Miscellaneous Sites

American Political Science Association
Avalon Project---digital documents of Law, Politics, Government, & more
Commission on Presidential Debates---archives of presidential debates
GovSpot---"resources for citizens and government employees"
Human Rights Library, University of Minnesota
INCORE (Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity)
*LexisNexis Congressional---Congressional publications, bills, laws, member and committee information
Political Database of the Americas---at Georgetown U.
Political Informmation.com---a subject search engine for politics/policy Web pages
Political Science Resources---by a British political scientist
Politics 1---resources on parties, candidates, ideological positions, issues, and general political news
State and Local Government on the Net
Terrorism Research Center
Thomas---Legislative information
U.S. Committee for Refugees---refugee information sponsored by a non-profit organization
U.S. Conference of Mayors

A-Z List

Africabib---African studies site at U of Arkansas-Little Rock
American Political Science Association
Avalon Project---digital documents of Law, Politics, Government, & more
Biographical Directory of the US Congress: 1774-present
Centre for Russian Studies' Database---at Norwegian Institute for International Affairs
The Center for Voting and Democracy
Commission on Presidential Debates---archives of presidential debates
*Congressional Digest---searchable database of articles from Congressional Digest and Supreme Court Debates.  To search, click on MEMBERS on the home page.
Council of Europe
Council of European Social Science Data Archives
Country Information by IMF
Country Studies---at Library of Congress
Documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention 1764-1789
Electoral College---including Electoral results since 1789.
Europa: The European Union
The European Union in the US
Federal Election Commission
The Founder's Constitution---Anthology of primary documents and political theories that served as antecedents to the U.S. Constitution of 1789
G8 Information Center---at U. of Toronto
Gallup Poll
Governments on the WWW
GovSpot---"resources for citizens and government employees"
Human Rights Library, University of Minnesota
INCORE (Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity)
International Constitutional Law
International Monetary Fund
International Relations and Security Network---a cooperative project with partners all over the world, aiming to provide one-stop information service in international relations and security
Latin American Network Information Center---at U. of Texas
*LexisNexis Congressional---Congressional publications, bills, laws, member and committee information
National Archives & Records Administration---historical documents, photos, pictures, and links to presidential libraries
National Election Studies---at U. of Michigan
Open Secrets: The Online Source for Money in Politics Data---by The Center for Responsive Politics, focusing on Congressional campaign contributions.
Organization of American States
Political Database of the Americas---at Georgetown U.
Political Information.com---a subject search engine for politics/policy Web pages
Political Science Resources---by a British political scientist
Politics 1---resources on parties, candidates, ideological positions, issues, and general political news
PollingReport.com---recent polls from Gallup, Harris, CBS/NYT, NBC/WSJ, etc.
Presidents of the United States---biographies, documents, cabinet members lists, etc. collected by Internet Public Library
Project Vote Smart---comprehensive voting information, including biographies of candidates, elected officials, and their voting records
Public Agenda Online---major social issues and opinions on them
Public Campaign---Organization devoted to promoting campaign finance reform
State and Local Government on the Net
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
Terrorism Research Center
Think Tanks
Thomas---Legislative information
United Nations
United Nations Scholar's Workstation---by Yale U.
U.S. Agency for International Development
U.S. Agency for International Development Regions and Countries Studies
    Africa
    Asia & Near East
    Europe & Eurasia
    Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Committee for Refugees---refugee information sponsored by a non-profit organization
U.S. Conference of Mayors
U.S. Federal Government Web Sites-Executive Branch
U.S. Judicial Branch
U.S. Legislative Branch
U.S. State and Local Governments Web Sites
Votes for Women: Selections From the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
Voter Information Service
World Bank
World Factbook---country profiles by CIA

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the reference librarian for political science.

Dan McGurk
(660) 785-4528
dmcgurk@truman.edu

dm

Encouraging Discovery