Psychology Research Guide
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
| Find Books |
Find Articles |
Media Library
Web
Sites | Citing Sources |
Help
ENCYCLOPEDIAS, DICTIONARIES, etc.
Subject Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for obtaining an
overview of a subject and related topics. Often an entry in an
encyclopedia will contain a list of references which can lead you to
more sources on that topic.
Here are several we have:
Concise
Encyclopedia of Psychology Reference BF 31 .E553
1996
Encyclopedia
of Psychology 8 vols. Reference BF 31 .E52
2000
Psychology
Basics 2 vols. Reference BF 31 .P765 1998
Survey of
Social Science-Psychology Series 6 vols.
Reference BF 31 .S79 1993
Subject Dictionaries
A
Dictionary of Psychology Reference BF 31 .C65
2001
A Student's
Dictionary of Psychology Reference BF 31 .S69
1999
Dictionary
of Theories, Laws and Concepts in Psychology
Reference BF 31 .R625 1998
Handbooks & Manuals
Handbook
of Industrial and Organizational Psychology 4 vols.
Reference HF 5548.8 H 265 1990
Library Use:
Handbook for Psychology Reference BF 76.8 .R43
2003
The
Psychology Student Writer's Manual Reference BF 76.8 .P76
2002
Back to top
FIND BOOKS
There are several types of searches you can do in the
library catalog
to locate books.
Psychology is a field that includes many narrower or specialized
fields of study, such as industrial psychology, psychology of
childhood & adolscence, psychology of women, personality and social
psychology, and many more. Library catalogs contain subject
headings used by the Library of Congress and most library users
are not familiar with these official headings. Therefore it is
always best to begin with a keyword search rather that a
subject search when first going to the online catalog.
Combine several terms that describe your topic, for example:
emotion AND cognition
music AND (emotion* OR mood*)
personality AND
socialization self perception
AND (elderly OR aged OR old age)
childhood trauma
AND devian*
A few tips on the keyword searches above:
The asterisk *
truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the word that follow
the truncation symbol. For example, emotion* will retrieve
emotion plus emotions, emotionally, emotionless).
The parentheses allows you to search
for concepts similar in meaning and then combine these with different term(s).
Remember to always place your similar terms within parentheses when
using AND & OR in one search statement.
Results from your keyword searches will help you identify appropriate subject headings that you can search under. These can help you get even more relevant books on your specific topic. Listed below are just a few subject headings used in the Catalog
human behavior
psychology--history
aging--psychological
aspects
perception
personality assessment
art--psychology
perception
in children
personality disorders
music--psychological aspects
cognition in children
psychology, experimental
Back to top
FIND ARTICLES
NEW! PsycARTICLES. Full text access to over 50 journals of the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycINFO
1887+
In print 1927-1966: General Collection BF 1 P65.
Produced by the American Psychological Association,
PsycINFO contains summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related
disciplines. Over 9,000 sources indexed including scholarly journal
articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and reports.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index
1975+
In print 1975-1998: HV 6001 C756
Indexes periodical articles on all aspects of criminal
justice, including the psychological aspects.
MEDLINE,
1965+
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published
internationally in all fields of medicine. Produced by the National
Library of Medicine.
On the Web through PubMed,
the NLM free public site.
Social Sciences Abstracts
1983+
In print under various titles, 1907-1994: Ref AI 3 S6
This index covers about 550 journals in the areas of anthropology, economics,
geography, law and criminology, psychology, sociology, and related topics.
Come of the citations are to book reviews, interviews and biographies.
Provides citations from 1983 to present and abstracts from 1994 to present.
SPORT
Discus
1975+
Comprehensive international database containing sport
and fitness literature. It includes references to periodical articles,
books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources.
Includes
the psychology and sociology of sport.
Back to top
MEDIA LIBRARY
Our Media Library located on the second floor houses a large collection of videos, DVDs, sound recordings and CD-ROMS. Below is a sample of videos and DVDs covering various topics in psychology. They are listed in order by call number.
Dr. B.F.
Skinner Media Video (2 videocassettes) BF
109.S55 A5 1980
Discovering
Psychology Media Video (13 videocassettes) BF 131
.D57 1989
Discovering
Psychology Media Video (26 videocassettes) BF
131 .D57 2001
The Mind
Media Video (9 videocassettes & guide) BF 161 .M56 1988
Discussion
With Carl Jung: Introversion, Extraversion and Other Contributions
Media Video BF 173 .J85 D58 1968
Jung on Film
Media Video BF 173 .J85 J86 1990
Methodology,
the Psychologist and the Experiment Media Video
BF 181 .M48 1986
Biofeedback:
The Yoga of the West BF 319.5 B5 B57 1980
What is
Normal? Media Video BF 671 .W53 1990
The Power of
Belief Media DVD BF 773 .P69 2003
Looking at
Abnormal Behavior Media Video RC 454 .L66 1991
The Nature
of Stress Media Video RC 455.4.S87 N38 1991
The
Schizophrenias Media Video RC 514 .S35 1991
The Anxiety
Disorders Media Video RC 531 .A59 1991
Mood
Disorders Media Video RC 537 .M66 1991
Personality
Disorders Media Video RC 554 .P47 1991
Substance
Abuse Disorders Media Video RC 564 .S82 1991
Behavior
Disorders of Childhood Media Video RJ 506 .B44
1991
Social
Psychology Media Video HM 251 .S62 1990
Back to top
WEB SITES
Government
Agencies | Professional Associations
| Reference & Comprehensive Sites
|
A-Z
List
Missouri Department of
Mental Health
National Institute of Mental Health
Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Services Administration
Professional
Associations
American Psychological Association
American Psychiatric Association
National Mental Health Association
Psychological
Societies --- Links to 50+ psychological associations
State and
Provincial Psychological Associations --- Provided by the APA
Reference Sources, Comprehensive
Sites
Encyclopedia of Psychology--Department
of Psychology, Jackson State University
The Personality
Project -- Northwestern University
"Opening overview defines the scope of personality theory and research,
offering abstracts of many recent articles. . .links to both academic and
nonacademic Web pages. . .sites of special interest to students. . .directories
of research labs and home pages of personality researchers. Lack of
graphics is not a drawback." (CHOICE
Magazine, Special Issue 39, 2002).
PsychScholar--"This
excellent, no nonsense gateway will take those interested in
psychology to a wide variety of Internet resources. . a
well-constructed and well-maintained source . . .Highly
recommended." R.R. Cornelius, Vassar College. CHOICE
Special Issue, v. 41 (2003).
Psych
Web--Russell A. Dewey, PhD, Georgia Southern University. A plethora of
psychology-related information for students and teachers. Includes an
online introductory psychology course with virtual laboratories and simulations.
Psycoloquy--This
site is currently unavailable (as of July 16, 2007). I will
continue to check for its availability, as it appears they are just
having some hardware difficulties at the moment and plan to have the
site available in near future. "Refereed,
international, interdisciplinary electronic journal sponsored by the American
Psychological Association and indexed by PsycINFO
and the Instituted for Scientific Information." Registration is
required, though information and services are free of charge.
Social Psychology Network
-- This site is maintained by Scott Plous, Wesleyan University and according to
their description, is "the largest social psychology database on the
Internet. . .more than 5,000 links related to psychology." The "Social
Psychology Topics" links include: Prejudice,
Discrimination and Diversity, Psychology of Gender (sites on Women's
Studies, Men's Studies and Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgendered issues),
Cultural Psychology, Attitudes and Social Cognition, Interpersonal Relations
(Romance and Attraction, Family, Human-Animal Relations), Violence and
Conflict Resolution and links to other disciplines related to Social
Psychology. Other helpful sections include "Social Psyc
PhD Programs," "Social Psychologist Directory," (includes
professional profiles of 800+ psychologists who specialize in social
or personality psychology), "Online Psychology Studies," (links to
various web-based studies being conducted by universities and
arranged topically), and has links to teaching resources.
"Students, instructors, and researchers alike will find this an
extremely useful and user friendly tool for exploring the world of
social psychology." R.R Cornelius, Vassar College.
CHOICE Special Issus, v. 41 (2003).
Sites Related to Psychology and Other Disciplines
National Institute on Aging--"The National Institute on Aging is one of 27
agencies that make up the National Institutes of Health. The
Web site contains a wealth of information on virtually all aspects
of aging. . .'Research Information' is divided into four subject
subsections: 'Biology of Aging, 'Behavioral and Social Research,'
Neuroscience and Neuropsychology,' and 'Scientific Resources.' .
.Highly recommended." W.P. Nye, Hollins University.
CHOICE Reviews, February 2006.
Psychology of Religion
Pages--Michael Nielsen, Georgia Southern University.
Primarily an introduction to the psychology of religion, this site
"favors concrete example over general theory, e.g. the role of
religion in the September 11th attacks, analysis of specific cases
involving new religious movements. . ." The site does include
profiles of "notable theories and theorists, e.g. Freud, Jung,
Adler. . .essays on clergy sexual abuse, spiritual healing and
psychotherapy."
CHOICE, September, 2003
American Psychiatric Association
American Psychological Association
Buros Institute of Mental
Measurements
Current
Research in Social Psychology: an Electronic Journal
Encyclopedia of
Psychology
Missouri Department of
Mental Health
The Personality
Project
Psych Web
Psychology of Religion Pages
Psycoloquy
Social Psychology Network
State and Provincial
Psychological Associations
Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Services Administration
Back to top
CITING SOURCES
There are several style manuals available in the library:
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001MLA Style
MLA Handbook
for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides and information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click here.
For further assistance, visit or
call the Reference Desk (660) 785-4051 or contact the Reference
Librarian for Psychology:
Lisa M. Glaubitz, Reference
Librarian
(660) 785-7412
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg