Sociology Research Guide
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
| Find Books |
Find Articles |
Media Library
Web
Sites | Citing Sources |
Help
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & REFERENCE WORKS
Subject Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for obtaining an
overview of a subject and related topics. An entry in an
encyclopedia will often contain a bibliography which can lead you to
more sources on that topic.
Here are several we have:
NEW!
The Blackwell
Encyclopedia of Sociology Reference HM 425 .B53 2007 (11 vols.)
Free trial access to online version
Encyclopedia of Sociology 4 vols. Reference
HM 425 .E5 2000
Sociology
Basics Reference HM 425 .S63 2000
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family 2 vols.
Reference HQ 9 .E52 1995
Encyclopedia of Social History Reference HN 28
.E53 1994
Subject Dictionaries
The
Blackwell
Dictionary of Sociology Reference HM 425 .J64 2000
A Dictionary
of Sociology
Reference HM 17 .D53 1998
A Dictionary
of Quotations in Sociology Reference HM 17
.B37 1985
Handbooks, Manuals & Guides
Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists Reference HM 585 .B527 2003
Blackwell Companion to Sociology Reference HM 585
.B53 2001
A
Guide to Writing Sociology Papers
Reference HM 73 .G78 1998
The following are shelved in the
General Collection, on second floor. These can be checked out:
Handbook of Qualitative Research
H62 .H2455 2000
The International Handbook of Sociology
HM 585 .I57 2000
The Sociology Student Writer's Manual
HM 585 .S638 2002
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender
HQ 1075 .C47 1999
Handbook of the Sociology of Religion
BL 60 .H36 2003
There are several types of searches you can do in the library catalog
to locate books. Library catalogs contain subject
headings used by the Library of Congress and most library users
are not familiar with these official headings. Therefore it is
always best to begin with a keyword search rather that a
subject search when first going to the online catalog.
Combine several terms that describe your topic, for example:
socialization and gender
social structure and (crime or deviance)
language and culture (class or social structure) and (crime or
deviance)
interaction and small group* (Simmel or
Coser) and social conflict
minorit* and assimilation
A few tips on the keyword searches above:
The asterisk * truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the
word that follow the truncation symbol. For example,
group* will retrieve group or groups; minorit* will retrieve
minority or minorities.
The parentheses allows you to search
for concepts similar in meaning and then combine these with a different term(s).
Remember to always place your similar terms within parentheses when
using AND & OR in one search statement.
Results from your keyword searches will help you identify appropriate subject headings that you can search under. These can help you get even more relevant books on your specific topic. Listed below are just a few Library of Congress subject headings used in the catalog. This first group represents major concepts and areas of study in sociology
social action
social
institutions
socialization
social structure
language
and culture
social classes (use instead of social
stratification)
social groups
conformity
social norms
deviant behavior
social role
religion
and sociology (use instead of sociology of
religion)
If you are looking for material that discusses a particular theory
in sociology, try a subject search under these Library of Congress
headings:
symbolic interactionism
functionalism (social sciences)
social conflict
knowledge, sociology of
For books, etc. on Marxism/Marxist
theory, search under these subject headings,
Marx, Karl
Marxian school of sociology
communism
socialism
The keyword search, marxism or marxist
theory will also produce results, but a number of these may
not be primarily on Marx or Marxism, but include only a chapter
related to the theory or theorist.
Back to top
FIND ARTICLES
Databases in this section are
restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive
sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and
the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also
contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more
than 6000 conference papers.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index
1975+
In print 1975-1998: HV 6001 C756
Indexes periodical articles on all aspects of criminal justice as
well as articles from scholarly journals in criminology and
deviance.
Social Sciences Abstracts
1983+
In print under various titles, 1907-1994: Ref AI 3 S6
This index covers about 550 journals in the areas of anthropology, economics,
geography, law and criminology, psychology, sociology, and related topics.
Come of the citations are to book reviews, interviews and biographies.
Provides citations from 1983 to present and abstracts from 1994 to present.
PsycINFO
1887+
In print 1927-1966: General Collection BF 1 P65.
Produced by the American Psychological Association,
PsycINFO contains summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related
disciplines. Over 9,000 sources indexed including scholarly journal
articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and reports. Journals in
sociology and social psychology are indexed here as well, including
Sociology & Social Research, Sociology of Health & Illness, Rural
Sociology, Qualitative Sociology and Contemporary Social
Psychology.
SPORT
Discus 1975+
Comprehensive international database containing sport
and fitness literature. It includes references to periodical articles,
books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources.
Includes
the psychology and sociology of sport.
Back to top
Media Library
Our Media Library located on the second floor houses a large
collection of videos, DVDs, as well as sound recordings and CD-ROMS.
Here are several videos that relate to some aspect of sociology.
The items below are listed in order by call number.
Race and
Ethnicity Media Video BF 575 .P9 R3 1991
Native
Americans: The Invisible People Media Video E 98
.S67 N38 1994
Middletown:
Continuity or Change? Media Video E 169.04
.M53 1999
Ethnic
Notions Media Video E 185. E844
1986
The Two
Nations of Black America Media Video E 185.8 T93
1998
The Clan in
Northeast Missouri Truman Mo Collection
F 466 .K5 1979
Peter Berger
Media Video HB 501 .B4522 1989
Culture
Media Video HM 101 .C857 1991
Social
Stratification Media Video HN 49 .S6 S635 1991
Rural
Communities: Legacy and Change Media Video (7
videocassettes) HN 65 .R852 1993
Violence: An
American Tradition Media Video HN 90 .V5 V5
1996
Changing
Men's Roles Media Video HQ 1090.3 .C47 1995
Socio-historical Gender Roles Media Video HQ 1154
.S596 1995
Social Class
Media Video HT 609 .S619 1991
The
Sociolinguistics of Language Media Video P 40 .M67
1987
This list is not exhaustive. To locate videos and DVDs on a
specific topic, go to our
Searching for Videos page.
New site! OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web (University of Auckland)--"An invaluable, centralized collection of links to free, official statistics resources. . .provides and abundance of difficult-to-find data sources, including links to armaments data from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, and elections data from Facts on International Relations and Security Trends. . .Essential. Reviewer: T.M. Johnson, University of Maryland-College Park CHOICE, August, 2007.
AgeLine Research
Database--"One of three AARP databases that focus
exclusively on the aged". The site provides abstracts of
journal articles, books, and research reports on social gerontology
and age-related information. Coverage is from 1966 to the
present. Some material is full text. "Recommended.
Upper-level undergraduates and general readers." (CHOICE,
November 2005)
CensusScope
Utilizing the U.S. Census as a primary source of demographic
information, this site, created and maintained by the Social Science
Data Analysis Network (SSDAN)at the University of Michigan, "creates
demographic media for the use of students, researchers, policy
makers, and the public. . .allows users to explore demographic
trends, copy maps, charts, and tables, and further manipulate the
data" C.W. Bruns, California State University-Fullterton in
CHOICE Reviews, June 2007.
Disability.gov--Categories
include Civil Rights, Community Life, Education, Employment,
Housing, Health, Technology, Benefits and Transportation.
"Excellent resource. . .Highly Recommended." CHOICE Reviews, Sep.
2006
Handbook of Latin American
Studies--Multidisciplinary, annotated bibliography of works selected
by scholars.
International
Database (IDB)--"a
computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic
and socioeconomic data for 227
countries and
areas of the world.
. .created in the [U.S.] Census Bureau's
International Programs Center (IPC) . . .the IDB provides quick
access to specialized information, with emphasis on demographic
measures, for individual countries or selected groups of countries
of the world." (from IDB home page)
Intute: Social Sciences--Online
catalogue of thousands of high quality Internet resources relevant to social
science education and research. Every resource has been selected and
described by a librarian or subject specialist.
Minority Links:
Facts on the American Indians and Alaska Natives Population
U.S. Census Bureau
Minority
Links: Facts on the Asian Population
U.S. Census Bureau
Minority
Links: Facts on the Black or African American Population
U.S. Census Bureau
Minority
Links: Facts on the Hispanic or Latino Population
U.S. Census Bureau
Mountain Voices--Funded by the Panos Institute (UK), presents
"interviews with residents of several mountain areas around the
word. . .people most affected by development and change at the local
level. . .Faculty and students in anthropology, sociology of
development, and comparative sociology will find this Web site
useful." (CHOICE, July/August, 2002).
National Institute on
Aging--"The National Institute on Aging is one of 27
agencies that make up the National Institutes of Health. The
Web site contains a wealth of information on virtually all aspects
of aging. . .'Research Information' is divided into four subject
subsections: 'Biology of Aging, 'Behavioral and Social Research,'
Neuroscience and Neuropsychology,' and 'Scientific Resources.' .
.Highly recommended." W.P. Nye, Hollins University.
CHOICE Reviews, February 2006.
Population Estimates--"The Population Estimates Program
publishes total resident population estimates and demographic
components of change (births, deaths, and migration) each year. We
also publish the estimates by demographic characteristics (age, sex,
race, and Hispanic origin) for the nation, states and counties"
(from the Population Estimates home page).
U.S. Census Bureau
Population Index on the
Web--Produced by the Office of Population Research at
Princeton University, this is a "browseable and searchable archive
of all 46,000 abstracts appearing in Population Index,
1986-2000. Does not link to full-text resources, but still a
"valuable retrospective bibliographic resource for researchers and
specialists." (CHOICE, March 2004)
Population Profile of the United States--Another source from the U.S.
Census Bureau, a useful source for students, journalists and others needing
quick demographic information and analysis, though not a comprehensive resource
like Statistical Abstracts. Topics include population and housing,
voting statistics, computer usage, income and race. (CHOICE, Oct. 2002).
Poverty
Related Links--"Developed by the Institute for Research on Poverty
(IRP) at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, this site provides a wealth of
information for anyone studying poverty and/or welfare reform." (CHOICE
Magazine, Vol. 39 Special Issue, 2002). From
this page you can access the IRP home page for information on publications,
conferences and research.
Pew Global Attitudes Project--From
the Pew Research Institute, provides access to data sets and reports
based on public opinion surveys. Since 2001, the Pew Research
Center has conducted 44 surveys, interviewed over 90,000 people from
50 countries. Many of the reports deal with perceptions of the
US abroad, though others report on computer use, satisfaction with
life, religiosity, and other topics. "The most valuable part
of the web site is having access to the original data sets in SPSS
format, along with the codebooks. . .The reports and the data sets
would be useful for cross-cultural study or for social research
classes that address international political and social issues. .
.Highly recommended." K.M. McKinley, Cabrini College. CHOICE
Reveiws, Sep. 2006.
Race and Ethnicity
Online Official site of the Section on Race, Ethnicity and Politics
of the American Political Science Association.
Social Gerontology and
the Aging Revolution--"User-friendly clearinghouse that offers
information or links to almost every issue regarding older people. . .Useful for
students, faculty and practitioners alike." (CHOICE, Vol. 39 Special Issue, 2002).
Sociolog: Julian Dierkes'
Comprehensive Guide to Sociology online--This site has links
to "US and Canadian university sociology departments and a list of
725 sociology-oriented resource pages that cover general reference,
e-journals, research institutes, professional associations, "SocioBlogs,"
thematic sites, and great sociologists. . . Highly
Recommended." (CHOICE, 2005 supplement)
Sociological
Research Online--Publishes high quality applied sociology, focusing
on theoretical, empirical and methodological discussions which engage with
current political, cultural and intellectual topics and debates.
UK focus.
A Sociological Tour
through Cyberspace--Oriented towards undergraduates, this site
provides access to comprehensive information on writing and research in
sociology.
SocioSite: Going Dutch Sociology-- "Presented by the Sociological
Institute of the University of Amsterdam and edited by Albert Benschop,
SocioSite is an ongoing project that gives access to the worldwide scene of
academic sociology." (CHOICE,Vol. 39 Special
Issue,2002)
Sourcebook
of Criminal Justice Statistics-Web version of the print source of the
same name. Published annually, this source represents the collaboration of
the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics and The School of Criminal
Justice at the University of Albany. Six topical sections including
public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice topics, nature and
distribution of known offenses, and characteristics and distribution of persons
arrested.
Statistical
Resources on the Web--University of Michigan Library
Documents Center. "Award-winning web site. . .content is
categorized into 24 major topical areas. . .search box and an
alphabetical index.. . .detailed site map make it easy to find sites
on any subject. . .Highly recommended." A.C. More, University of
Massachusetts at Amherst. CHOICE, September 2006.
U.S. Census Bureau--Population,
housing, and economic census data. 1990 and 2000 decennial
data, as well as intercensal estimates and projections.
Includes data from the new annual American Community Survey.
"Since this web site consists of primary data collected by the
Census Bureau, nothing can replace it. Private and commercial
analyses of the data, e.g. CensusScope, only compliment the basic
statistics." L. Treff-Gangler, University of Colorado-Denver.
CHOICE Reveiws, Sep. 2006
WWW Virtual
Library: Sociology --Established in 1995 by Dr. Samuel R. Brown (Albert
Magnus College Library, New Haven, CT) and currently maintained by Dr. Carl
J. Cuneo (Department of Sociology, McMaster University, Hamilton,
Ontario,Canada). A very thorough resource in sociology, "linking
students, faculty and researchers to associations, organizations, university
departments, newsgroups, listservs, chat room discussions, research centers,
electronic journals and newsletters, curriculum resources" and more.
(The Social Sciences: A Cross-Disciplinary Guide to
Selected Sources, Third Edition, 2002)
Weberian
Sociology of Religion--"The author of this Web site, Moriyuki
Abukuma, is a university lecturer in sociology in Japan. . .the
resource houses Abukuma's own articles, which include Weberian
analyses of religious experience, Japanese culture, and Christianity
as well as information about a Japanese Christian movement. The most
valuable resource on the site is a collection of Max Weber's works
on religion, taken from standard English translations. .
.Recommended for undergraduate and graduate students in religion and
sociology." (CHOICE, May 2001)
Data Sources
Pew Global Attitudes Project--From
the Pew Research Institute, provides access to data sets and reports
based on public opinion surveys. Since 2001, the Pew Research
Center has conducted 44 surveys, interviewed over 90,000 people from
50 countries. Many of the reports deal with perceptions of the
US abroad, though others report on computer use, satisfaction with
life, religiosity, and other topics. "The most valuable part
of the web site is having access to the original data sets in SPSS
format, along with the codebooks. . .The reports and the data sets
would be useful for cross-cultural study or for social research
classes that address international political and social issues. .
.Highly recommended." K.M. McKinley, Cabrini College. CHOICE
Reveiws, Sep. 2006.
U.S. Census Bureau--Population,
housing, and economic census data. 1990 and 2000 decennial
data, as well as intercensal estimates and projections.
Includes data from the new annual American Community Survey.
"Since this web site consists of primary data collected by the
Census Bureau, nothing can replace it. Private and commercial
analyses of the data, e.g. CensusScope, only compliment the basic
statistics." L. Treff-Gangler, University of Colorado-Denver.
CHOICE Reveiws, Sep. 2006
Sites Concerning September 11, 2001
After September 11: Perspectives from the
Social Sciences--The Social Science Research Council (Click on After
September 11 Archive or the Teaching Resource for High School and
College Classrooms).
Center for
Strategic Education War on Terrorism - September 11 Links
Johns Hopkins University, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International
Studies.
Screenshot Archive
of Online News Sites--September 11, 2002
A digital collection from Interactive Publishing, Zurich, Switzerland and
Victoria, B.C. View photographs by publication, country, time.
The September 11 Digital Archive: Saving
the Histories of September 11, 2001
Organized
by the
American Social History Project
at City University of New York
Graduate Center and the
Center for History and New Media at George Mason
University.
There are several style manuals available in the library:
American Sociological Association
Style Guide
Reference HM 586 .A54 2007
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001MLA Style
MLA Handbook
for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides and information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click here.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660) 785-4051 or contact the Reference Librarian for Sociology:
Lisa M. Glaubitz, Reference
Librarian
(660) 785-7412
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg