Library Web Home

Spanish Language Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |  Find Books  |  Videos  |  Periodicals
Find Articles  |    Web Sites  |    Citing Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Enciclopedia hispánica.  Reference AE61 E57 2005
Dictionary of Hispanic biography.  Reference CT1343 .D53 1996
Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture.  Reference DP233.5 .E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Latin American literature.  Reference PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century.  Reference PN 774 L433
Hispanic culture of Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean. General Collection F1234 .H794 1996
Hispanic writers - Reference PQ 7081.3 H58 1999
Larousse gran diccionario : inglés-español, español-inglés.  Reference PC4640 .L393 2004
Latin American writers - Reference PQ 7081 A1 L37 1989
The Oxford companion to Spanish literature.  Reference PQ6006 .O93

Foreign-Language Dictionaries:
Many language dictionaries are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional copies, which may be checked out, are kept in the General Collection on the third floor. To find bilingual dictionaries (e.g., a Spanish-English dictionary) in the Library catalog, click on the link below to get the call numbers for bilingual dictionaries in our library.

Spanish Dictionaries in Pickler Memorial Library
Online Dictionaries and Translators
YourDictionary.com - Enter a term in the dictionary/thesaurus look-up box for English or use the word translator and type in a word and select from English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish.
 

Back to Top

Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

irony and satire
south america and birds
mexico and religion

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

        Spanish Language 
        Hispanic American women in literature
        Literature and society -- Spain
        Latin American literature -- History and criticism

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Spanish Language Books in Pickler Memorial Library

Spanish Language Videos/DVDs in Pickler Memorial Library
 

 

Back to Top

Spanish Periodicals

Diario las Americas Current  Newspaper
Pais Current  Newspaper
Cuadernos Americanos Current Per AP63 .C669
Cuadernos Hispanoamericanos 1990-date Per AP63 .C6697 
Explicacion de textos literarios 1972-date Per PQ6001 .E96
Hispamérica 1988-date Per PQ7081 A1 H57
Hispania 1970-date JSTOR - Per PC4001 H7
Journal of Hispanic Philology 1986-date Per PC4001 J68
Revista de estudios hispanicos 1967-date Per PC4008 R45
Revista de musica latinoamericana 1980-date JSTOR and Project Muse
Revista hispanica moderna 1934-date Per PQ 6001 R47
Revista iberoamericana 1939-date Per PQ 7081 A1 R4


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian. 

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) - authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO).  1985+.  A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800 journals in all areas of academic study.

Literature Resource Center (LRC) Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods. 1 Simultaneous User

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Arts and Humanities Search  1980+
Indexing of 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Citation Index allows searching of bibliographies.

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.

LexisNexis-A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).

Project MUSE. - Truman campus has access to the Basic Undergraduate Collection of Project Muse journals  There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

 

Back to Top


Web Sites:                      
 

                                 General       |     Associations     |    University Hosted Projects

General


Center for Applied Linguistics - a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature -
Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English
Ethnologue---
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.
iLoveLanguages is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center - associated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin, LANIC seeks to "provide Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and to provide Latin Americanists around the world with access to information on and from Latin America."
Learn Spanish - Language Learning Library
radio-locator - A list of radio stations on the internet
Modern Language Association Language Map -
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
Word Reference.com
- Superior translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish

 

Associations

American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese
American Classical League
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
American Translators Association
International Language Testing Association (ILTA)
Modern Language Association (MLA)



University Hosted Projects

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition at the University of Minnesota
Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University
Language Acquisition Resource Center at San Diego State University
National Capital Language Resource Center
NFLRC at the University of Hawaii

UCLA Language Materials Project provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon - guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.

 

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Language and Literature.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

Back to Top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter