TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University

How to Find Speeches

On the Internet:

Library Databases

LexisNexis Academic is an excellent source for texts of speeches, especially political speeches.  Follow these directions:
        Open the Guided News Search (not the Quick News Search) of LexisNexis.
        1.  Select a News Category:  Choose News Transcripts
        2.  Select a News Source:  Choose Political Transcripts
        3.  Enter Search Terms:  Example:  clinton and democratic national convention
        4.  Narrow to a specific data range:  Adjust the date coverage for your topic.

Web Sites

 You can search each of these web sites individually, or you can use this search box to search them simultaneously.

American Leaders Speak (Library of Congress)
"...fifty-nine sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding the First World War and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes."
 
American Rhetoric (Michael E. Eidenmuller)
Indexes and provides full-text of political, religious, historical, and entertainment speeches. Some include audio and/or streaming video.
 
Douglass: Archives of American Public Address (Northwestern University)
Electronic archive of American oratory and related documents.  Browse by speaker, title, chronologically, or by keyword.

Earliest Voices : A Gallery from the Vincent Voice Library.
Includes William Jennings Bryan, Eugene V. Debs, Thomas Edison, Samuel Gompers, William McKinley, William Taft, and Booker T. Washington.

Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from around the World (Sweet Briar College)
"Gifts of Speech is dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by influential contemporary, women from around the world."
 
History and Politics Out Loud (Jerry Goldman & Northwestern University)
"HPOL is a searchable multimedia database documenting and delivering authoritative audio relevant to American history and politics."

History Channel Speech Archives
"Hear the words that changed the world."

Presidential Speech Archive
Texas A&M University site "intended to be a resource for people interested in presidential rhetoric."

-----------------

You can also search all of Google to find a speech by a specific person:
        In the search box, type the name of the person in quotes and add the word speech.
        Example:  "helen keller" speech
If you are looking for a specific speech you can add other keywords to help identify it.
        Example:  "martin luther king" speech dream

 

In the Library:

Search the Library Catalog.  Use a keyword search with the word speeches and the author's name.  For example:
                speeches and churchill
                speeches and kennedy


If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Some important print collections and guides

American Orators before 1900:  Critical studies and sources.
        Reference PN 4055 U5 A4 1987
American Orators of the Twentieth Century: Critical studies and sources.
        Reference PN 4193 P6 A44 1987

Historic Documents of [year].  1972+.    Reference E 839.5 H57

Index to American Women Speakers, 1828-1978. 
        Reference PS 400 M3
We Shall be Heard: An index to Speeches by American Women, 1978 to 1985.
        Reference PS 408 M35 1988

Representative American Speeches.  1937+   General Collection PS 668 B3

Speech Index:  An index to collections of world famous orations and speeches for various occasions.  Reference AI 3 S85

Public Papers of the Presidents.  1929+   General Collection J 80 A283
        Available online 1993+ from GPO Access

Vital Speeches of the Day.  1934+  Periodicals PN 6121 V52
        Available online 1985+ full text on EBSCO's Academic Search Elite

Voices of Multicultural America:  Notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995.    Reference PS 663 M55 V64 1996

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.  1965-2000 Periodicals J 80 A284.
        Available online 2000+ from FDsys - Federal Digital System
        Available online 1995+  full text on EBSCO's Academic Search Elite

Newspapers are also a good source for speeches.  Check either the same day or a day or two after the speech is delivered in various newspapers in the Periodicals/Microforms Department.  The New York Times often prints speeches in their entirety.  Library has 1851+

Video/Audio

Click here for a list of speeches on video or DVD which are available in the Library.

    The Library has two sets which are collections of videos of famous speeches:
            Great American speeches:  80 Years of Political Oratory.  1912-1984.
                    Media Video PS 668 G74 1997  (6 videocassettes)
            Great Speeches.  1985+
                    Media Video PN 6121 G73 1985  (12 videocassettes)

Click here for a list of speeches on audio cassette which are available in the Library.
 

dm

Encouraging Discovery