Theater Research Guide
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
| Find Books |
Find Articles |
CD-ROMs, DVDs, etc.
Web
Sites | Citing Sources |
Help
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
Subject Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for obtaining an
overview of a subject and related topics. An entry in an
encyclopedia will often contain a bibliography which can lead you to
more sources on that topic.
Here are several we have:
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre 3 vols.
Reference ML 102 .M88 2001
International Dictionary of Theatre 3 vols.
Reference PN 2035 .I49 1992
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama 5 vols.
Reference PN 1625 .M3 1984
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre 6
vols. PN 1861 .W67 1994
Subject Dictionaries
An Annotated Dictionary
of Technical, Historical and Stylistic Terms Relating to
Theatre and Drama Reference PN 2035
.W48 1995
Dictionary of Shakespeare Reference PR 2892
.M398 2000
The Drama Dictionary Reference PN
1625 .H64 1988
Facts on File Dictionary of Theatre Reference PN 2035 .F27 1988
Theatrical Directors: A Biographical Dictionary Reference PN 2205 .T54 1994
Handbooks, Manuals and Guides
Cambridge Guide to American Theatre Reference PN 2220 .C35 1993
Cambridge Guide to Theatre Reference PN PN 2035 .C27 1992
(Previous editions published as:
Cambridge Guide to World Theatre)
Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Reference PN 2035 .C63 1992
Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television 53 vols.
Reference PN 2208 .W52 1981-current
A Guide
to Critical Reviews 6 vols.
Reference PN 2037 .S35
Part 1: American Drama, 1909-1982
Part 2: The Musical, 1909-1989
Part 3: Foreign Drama,
1909-1977
Part 4: The Screenplay, from
the Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove
Part 4, supplement: The
Screenplay, 1963-1980
Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre Reference PN 2300 .O94 1989
Directories
Handel's National Directory for the Performing Arts 2
vols. Reference PN 2289 .H35 1992
Summer Theatre Directory Reference PN 2289 .S8
(annual publication, latest ed. only)
Reviews
The New York Times Theater Reviews 31
vols. Reference PN 2266 .N48 1870-2000
The following are shelved in the General Collection, third floor, and can
be checked out:
Contemporary American Theater Critics: A
Directory and Anthology of Their Works
PN 1707.9 .C6 1977
Shakespeare in the Theatre: An Anthology of Criticism
PR 3091.S365 1997
Back to top
Find Books
There are several types of searches you can do in the
library catalog
to locate books. Library catalogs contain subject
headings used by the Library of Congress and most library users
are not familiar with these official headings. Therefore it is
always best to begin with a keyword search rather that a
subject search when first going to the online catalog.
Combine several terms that describe your topic. Use and to narrow your results,
use or to broaden your results:
1) british theat* AND history
2) (british theat* OR british drama) AND history
3) dictionary of theatre
A few tips on the keyword searches above:
1)
The asterisk * truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the
word that follow the truncation symbol. For example,
theat* will retrieve theater, theatre, theaters, theatres,
theatrical.
2)
The parentheses allows you to search
for concepts similar in meaning and then combine these with a different term(s).
Remember to always place your similar terms within parentheses when
using AND & OR in one search statement.
3) In the catalog, your terms are searched as a phrase. The
search, dictionary of theatre will retrieve only those
records in which those terms are found together with no other words
in between.
Results from your keyword searches will help you identify
appropriate Library of Congress subject headings that
cover your topic. Examining broader, narrower and
related subject headings often lead you to more relevant items for
your topic. Below are a few Library of Congress subject
headings relating to theater or drama:
american drama
english drama
american drama--18th century
english drama--restoration, 1660-1700
american drama--19th century
theater--political aspects
american drama--20th century
theater--production and direction
theater--united states
theater--england
theater--united states--history
theater--england--history
theater--africa
performance art
acting--study and teaching
stage lighting
monologues
If you cannot find a particular title or enough books on
your topic in Pickler, be sure to check the
MOBIUS online
catalog. When you find a book in MOBIUS, just click on the
"request" button and complete the online form. You will
receive an e-mail notice once the book is here, which usually takes
2-3 business days.
Back to top
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
Arts and Humanities Search (Arts & Humanities Citation Index) 1980+
Provides citations to the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Over 1,300 sources covered. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews.
Humanities Abstracts 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996 : Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations and abstracts from more than 325 periodicals in archaeology
and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore,
history, language, literature, performing and visual arts,
philosophy, religion and theology.
Project MUSE--There are 12 full-text journals covering theater, film and performing arts available online in this collection. Dates vary for each journal, however the coverage is usually from previous 5 years to current issue.
Listed below are journals of theater and film available in Pickler Memorial Library. Click on title to view location and coverage.
* denotes peer-reviewed journal
| PN1561 P472 | PAJ* | |
| PN1601 C66 | Comparative drama* | |
| PN1601 J68 | Journal of dramatic theory and criticism* | |
| PN1601 P6 | Plays | |
| PN1861 M63 | Modern drama* | |
| PN1991 J62 | Journal of broadcasting & electronic media* | |
| PN1993 F4183 | Film criticism* | |
| PN1993 F438 | Film comment | |
| PN1993 G74 | Griffithiana* | |
| PN1993 H4573 | Film quarterly* | |
| PN1993 J723 | Journal of film and video* | |
| PN1993 S62 | Cinema journal* | |
|
|
PN1993 W48 | Wide angle |
|
|
PN2000 | Theatre topics* (online only) |
| PN2000 A52 | American theatre | |
|
|
PN2000 D6822 | The Drama review |
| PN2000 T483 | Entertainment design | |
| PN2000 V3 | Variety | |
| PN2001 T432 | New theatre quarterly | |
|
|
PN3171 E382 | Theatre journal* |
| PN3175 A1 H512 | Dramatics |
Media Library
Our Media Library located on the second floor houses a large collection of videos, DVDs, CDs and CD-ROMS that are of interest to students and faculty in the Theater Department. Here are several formats and titles that may be of particular interest:
CD-ROMs
The Ancient
Greek Theater Media Multimedia PA 3201 .B48 1996
The Comprehensive
Shakespeare Dictionary Media Multimedia PR 2892 .C587
1998
Shakespeare: His
Life, Times, Works and Sources Media Multimedia PR2900 .S52 1995
Shakespeare's
Theater Media Multimedia PR 2895 .S53 1996
Shakespeare,
William, 1564-1616. "As You Like It" Media Multimedia
PR 2801 .A2 G5 1997
Shakespeare,
William, 1564-1616. A Midsummer Night's Dream." Media
Multimedia
PR 2827 .M5 1997
Shakespeare,
William, 1564-1616. "Taming of the Shrew." Media Multimedia
PR 2832 .A2 G5 1997
Shakespeare,
William, 1564-1616. "Twelfth Night." Media Multimedia
PR 2837 .A2 G5 1997
CDs
The Media Library has the series "Arkangel complete Shakespeare" in compact
disc. This set is a companion to the Complete Pelican Shakespeare.
Videos and DVDs
The Media Library houses many films on the theater, its history, acting,
directing, costume design, set lighting and other aspects of theater
production. There are many different productions of the many
Shakespeare plays as well as many film adaptations of plays. Please
see the "Searching for Videos" page at
http://library.truman.edu/searching_for_videos.htm.
Web Links A-Z
Brief
Guide to Resources in Theater & Performance Studies--Annotated
links to allow fast access for information on theater.
Costume Gallery-- Provides over links to costume designers, costume
history, and recreational sites.
Costume Manifesto--Links for
costumers including history and costume advice.
Dramatists Play Service, Inc.--Representing
the American Theatre by publishing and licensing the work of new and established
playwrights.
Drew's Scripts-O-Rama--Comprehensive
index of movie and TV scripts.
Folkstreams.net: The Best of American
Folklore Films. "Streaming video access to a significant and
growing collection of documentary films about folk culture in the US. . .This
excellent source will benefit students and scholars of folklore, anthropology,
American studies, and documentary filmmaking. . .Highly recommended.
G.J. Reece, American University. CHOICE Reviews, May 2008.
The Internet Broadway Database--Database
of shows produced on Broadway beginning in the 1700's. Includes title
pages of programs, information about theaters, statistics and various "fun
facts" about Broadway.
The Internet Movie Database--"Highly
comprehensive and easy to use movie reference tool. . .over 2,250,000
filmographies covering some 180,000 movie titles and over 560,000 people." (CHOICE
Reviews, June 2006)
New Dramatists--non-profit
organization that is dedicated to the development of new playwrights.
Performing Arts
Encyclopedia--"The Library of Congress provides this resource as a means
of access to its vast collection in the performing arts. . .allows browsing by
name, subject, or specific collection.. . .links to online digitized resources
and databases. . .links to featured events and Webcasts of performances. .
.Anyone researching music, theatre, or dance will find it invaluable. . .Highly
recommended." M.W. Wildman, SUNY College at Cortland. CHOICE Reviews,
February 2007.
Playwrighting
Resources--Links for the theatre playwright
Playwrights Guild of Canada--Catalog
of plays and books as well as providing general information about this
organization.
Talkin' Broadway--Includes
Broadway & Off-Broadway theatre discussions, cast recording reviews, and
interviews with actors and actresses.
Back to top
Citing Sources
There are several style manuals available in the library:
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001MLA Style
MLA Handbook
for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides and information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click here.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660) 785-4051 or contact the Reference Librarian for Theater:
Lisa M. Glaubitz, Reference
Librarian
(660) 785-7412
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg