Women's Studies Research Guide
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
| Find Books |
Find Articles |
CD-ROMs, Videos, etc.
Web
Sites | Women's Resource Center at Truman
| Citing Sources |
Help
"Women's studies in higher education grew out of advocacy
for and inquiry about women, and the experiences of the women who
collectively built a new academic field. It began
spontaneously in many places and continues today--for, about, and of
women around the world." --Marilyn Jacoby Boxer,
When Women Ask the Questions: Creating Women's Studies in America
(1998)
This guide is to help the student and researcher locate materials in
Pickler Memorial Library that relate to some aspect of Women’s
Studies. Women’s Studies is an interdisciplinary field of
scholarship, and the sources listed here cover a range of subjects
related to women's issues or women's studies.
In addition to sources available at the library, a list of
authoritative and relevant web sites is given. Since the Web is an
ever-changing medium, sites may be added or deleted periodically.
We hope you will find this guide useful for your needs.
Location information:
Periodicals (bound and current) -- First Floor
General Collection A-K -- Second Floor
General Collection L-Z -- Third Floor
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
Subject Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for obtaining an
overview of a subject and related topics. An entry in an
encyclopedia will often contain a bibliography which can lead you to
more sources on that topic.
Here are several we have:
The Greenwood
Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Asia and Oceania
Reference HQ 1726 .G74 2001
The
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Europe
Reference HQ 1588 .G74 2003
The
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Central and South
America
Reference HQ 1467 .G74 2003
The
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: The Middle East and
North
Africa Reference HQ 1726.5 .G74 2003
The
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Sub-Saharan Africa
Reference HQ 1788 .G74 2003
The
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: North America and the
Caribbean Reference HQ 1400 .G74
2003
Routledge
International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge
4 vols. Reference HQ 1115 .R69 2000
vol. 1: Ability
-Education: gobalization
vol. 2:
Education: health - Hypertension
vol. 3:
Identity politics - Publishing
vol. 4:
Quakers - Zionism; Index
Women's Studies Encyclopedia 3 vols. Reference HQ 1115
.W645 1989
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers 2 vols. Reference
HQ1236 .R29 2001
Encyclopedia of Women in American History 3 vols. Reference
HQ 1410 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics Reference HQ 1236.5
.U6 E53 1999
Subject Dictionaries
Amazons, Bluestockings
and Crones: A Feminist Dictionary General Collection
HQ 1115 .K73 1992
Larousse Dictionary of Women Reference HQ 1115 .L37
1996
The
Dictionary of Feminist Theory Reference HQ 1115 .H86
1995
The
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient
Times to
the Mid-20th Century 2 vols. Reference
Q 141 .B5285 2000
Subject Bibliographies
Bibliographies are lists of sources that focus on a fairly specific subject
area, for example, Women in Modern American Politics: a Bibliography, 1900 –
1995. Sources listed in a bibliography can be books, magazines &
scholarly journal articles, videos, online sources, etc.
If a bibliography is “annotated,” then an evaluative summary of each source is
included. Here are a few bibliographies relating to women studies that
the library has:
Women's
Studies: A Recommended Core Bibliography, 1980-1985 General
Collection
HQ 1180 .L64 1987
Notable Women in
World History: A Guide to Recommended Biographies and Auto-
biographies Reference CT 3230
.A38 1998
Muslim Women
Throughout the World: A Bibliography
General Collection HQ 1170 .K56
1997
Women's Diaries,
Journals and Letters: An Annotated Bibliography Reference
CT 3230 .C55 1989
Women in Modern
American Politics: A Bibliography
General Collection HQ 1236.5.U6
1997
Biographical Sources
Who's Who of American
Women Reference CT 3260 .W48 latest edition
(2002/03)
General Collection CT 3260 .W48 1958-59; 1964-2001
Handbooks, Almanacs & Statistical Sources
Handbook of American
Women's History Reference HQ1410 .H36 2000
This source is structured more like an encyclopedia than a handbook,
containing entries
from A-Z (significant women and men, events and issues),
rather than chapters covering
specific themes in the field.
The Information
Please Women's Sourcebook Reference HQ 1406 .I54 1995
This is the latest edition available; while some statistics are
outdated, may be useful for its
extensive list of organizations, many concerned
with women's issues. The list is found in
the front on pages xvi-xxv.
No addresses or web sites are given but a Google search on
any of these
organizations should bring up their web sites.
Women's
Almanac 2000 Reference HQ 1111 .W62 2000
Profiles of notable women in
U.S. and world history, country by country survey of women,
women in the news
U.S. and worldwide, contemporary issues.
The Almanac of Women and Minorities in American Politics Reference
1236.5 .M3778
1999
Chronology of Women
Worldwide Reference HQ 1121 .C617 1997
Statistical Handbook on
Women in America Reference HQ 1420 .T34 1996
Includes statistics on various demographic characteristics
(immigration, life expectancy,
childlessness), employment/economic
characteristics, health and social charactersitcs.
Note that publication
is 8 years old, and more recent statistics may be available elsewhere
such as
government web sites. This is the latest edition available.
The American Woman
(annual) General Collection HQ 1402 .A4 1987-current
year
Directories
Breast Cancer
Resource Guide for Minority Women
U.S. Documents HE 1.6/3:C 16/2000
Guide to Graduate
Work in Women's and Gender Studies (Electronic copy)
Back to top
Find Books
Keyword and subject searches
There are several types of searches you can do in the
library catalog to locate
books and other materials. The "default" search is a basic keyword
search and this is the appropriate search when first
exploring a topic.
In keyword searching, you will often use Boolean operators and
"nesting" to best tailor your search to what you need.
Use AND to limit your results:
Use OR to broaden your results:
feminis* AND motherhood
husbands OR spouses
women AND body image AND health
work OR employment
women AND status AND china
cinema OR film
Use "nesting" when using AND & OR together in one search:
(sexism OR discrimination) AND women
(women OR female*) AND literacy AND Africa*
(disease OR illness) AND (elderly OR aged) AND women
A few tips on the keyword searches above:
--The asterisk * truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the
word that follow the truncation symbol. For example, feminis* will retrieve feminist, as well as feminists, feminism,
feminisms. Africa* will retrieve Africa, African, Africans, Africana.
--The parentheses allows you to search
for concepts similar in meaning and then combine these with a different term(s).
Remember to always place your similar terms within parentheses (the
terms you are connecting with OR) when
using AND & OR in one search statement.
--In the catalog, your terms are searched as a phrase. The
search, materialist feminism will retrieve only those
records in which those terms are found together with no words
in between.
Results from your keyword searches will help you identify
appropriate Library of Congress subject headings that cover
your topic. Examining broader, narrower and related subject
headings often lead you to more relevant items for your topic.
Below are a few Library of Congress subject headings relating to
women and women's studies.
women--social conditions
feminism
women--psychology
women and literature
feminist theory
women--biography
women's studies
feminist criticism
women--suffrage women's health
feminism and art
women--sexual behavior women and religion
You can also subdivide certain subject headings such as "women" or "women's
studies" or "feminism" by country, for example:
women--afghanistan
women's studies--india
feminism--china
women--south africa
women's studies--united states
feminism--united states
women--nigeria
or search for women of specific faiths:
hindu women
buddhist women
muslim women jewish women
christian women
If you cannot find a particular title or enough books on
your topic in Pickler, be sure to check the
MOBIUS online
catalog. When you find a book in MOBIUS, just click on the
"request" button and complete the online form. You will
receive an e-mail notice once the book is here, which usually takes
2-3 business days.
Back to top
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
We do not have a magazine/journal database specifically
devoted
to women's issues. However, since Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary
field, other subject databases index
a significant number of journals focusing on women's studies.
Humanities Abstracts
1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996 : Reference AI 3 S6
This index contains citations and abstracts from more than
325 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area
studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature,
performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
--Topics covered include women in literature, women and
communication/media, feminism/international aspects, feminist
art, feminist theology, feminist ethics, feminism and theater,
etc.
--Journals of interest include: Women's Studies
(1984-current), Women and Language (1995-current),
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature (4/1988-current).Women's
History Review (2000-current), Women's Studies in
Communication (1995-current), Hypatia: a Journal of
Feminist Philosophy (6/1995-current), Gay & Lesbian
Review (6/2000-current), and Genders (2002-current).
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive
sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records
and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.
Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs
and more than 6000 conference papers. Includes articles from
various women and gender-focused journals such as Signs:
Journal of Women in Culture & Society, Women's Studies,
Women's Studies International Forum, Journal of Women's Health,
NWSA Journal, Psychology of Women Quarterly, and
Australian Feminist Studies.
PsychINFO--This is the main database for research
articles in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO
indexes a number of journals that may be of interest to students
and researchers in women's and gender studies. Relevant titles include:
Psychology of Women Quarterly (1976-current), Feminism &
Psychology (1991-current), Journal for the
Psychoanalysis of Culture & Society (includes articles
related to feminism; 1996-current), Sex Roles
(1978-current), (Women & Therapy
(includes articles covering feminist therapy;
1982-current), and Signs (1975-current)
PAIS
International (Public Affairs Info Service). 1976+
In print 1915-1976: Ref H 1 P823
An interdisciplinary subject index of citations and abstracts from magazine
and journal
articles, books, government publications, pamphlets, and reports relating to
global public policy and social issues. Includes
abstracts from numerous news and opinion publications including
The Nation, American Prospect, U.S. News and World Report,
In These Times,
and the well known feminist magazine, Ms.
Several periodicals with international focus include Middle
East Review, Jerusalem Post and Latin American Perspectives.
--Titles pertinent to Women's Studies and women's issues
include: Ms. Women & Politics (1980-current),
Women's Rights Law Reporter (1975-1997),
Reproductive Health Matters (1995-1999), Women & Health
(1984-1999) and Women & Criminal Justice (1989-1999).
EBSCOhost's
Academic Search Elite offers full-text articles from a
number of women's studies journals, including: Hypatia
(1986-current), Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies
(2001-current), Differences (1994-2003), Feminist
Studies (1990-current), Women & Environments
International Magazine (2001-current), Women's Studies
(1986-current) and Gender Issues (formerly Feminist
Issues; 1998-current; delay of 6 months due to publisher
restriction)
A number of the journals listed in the above databases are
not subscribed to by Pickler (print or online). When
you identify a journal article from a journal not available
through Pickler, be sure to request it through our
Interlibrary Loan service (select "Periodical Articles").
If you are in a FirstSearch database (such as
PsycINFO), you can request an interlibrary loan
directly from the citation you are looking at. Contact
the Reference Desk if you need assistance with interlibrary loan
requests.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Listed below are journals related to Women's
Studies that are available
in Pickler Memorial Library. Click on title to view
location and coverage.
* denotes peer-reviewed journal
| HQ768 S4 | Sex roles* |
| HQ1101 H96 | Hypatia* |
| HQ1101 J68 | Journal of women's history* |
| HQ1101 M5514 | Ms |
| HQ1101 S5 | Signs* |
| HQ1101 W768 | The Women's review of books |
| HQ1101 W77 | Women's studies* |
| HQ1181 U5 W657 | Women's studies quarterly* |
| HQ1206 P76 | Psychology of women quarterly* |
| HQ1393 J68 | Journal of feminist studies in religion* |
| HQ1402 M44 | Media report to women |
Media Library
Our Media Library located on the second floor houses a large collection of
videos, DVDs, sound recordings and CD-ROMS, many focusing on women and
various women's issues.
CD-ROMs
The National Museum
of Women in the Arts Collection Media Multimedia N 858.N36 A83 1998
Sybils! An
Interactive Exploration of Women in the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Media Multimedia HQ 1147 .E85 S9 1999
Wistat:
Women's Indicators and Statistics Database Media Multimedia HQ
1154 .W57 1999
Women Go Global:
The United Nations and the International Women's Movement
Media Multimedia HQ 1154 .W64 2000
Sound Recordings (Spoken)
Grace Paley
Interview with Kay Bonetti Media Cassette PS 3566 A46 Z782
1986
Grandma Moses at 96
Media Cassette ND 237 .M78 G73 1969
Great American
Women's Speeches Media Cassette HQ 1423 .G74
1995
Lessing, Doris May
The Golden Notebook Media Cassette PR 9369.3 L4 G63
1984
Maya Angelou (The
Life and Work of the Noted Black Author) Media Cassette PS 3551
.N464 Z87 1993 2 cassettes
The State of the
Sexes: Margaret Mead Reviews the Evolution of Social Roles
Media Cassette HQ 1121 .M38 1974
Sound Recordings (Music)
Bella Domna: The Medieval Woman--Lover, Poet, Patroness and Saint
Media Compact Disc
CD 3709 1988
Global Divas:
Voices from Women of the World Media Compact Disc
CD 2804-2806 1995
3 cds
Heartbeat:
Voices of First Nations Women Media Compact Disc CD 5316
1995
Historical Anthology
of Music by Women Media Compact Disc CD 3767-3768, 3769-3770
1997 4 cds
Watch and Pray: Spirituals and Art Songs by African-American Women
Composers
Media Compact Disc CD1871 1994
Videos
Feminist
Strategies Media Video NN72 .F45 F44 1992
Feminist Therapy
Media Video RC 489 .F45F46 1998
Flappers: The Birth
of the 20th-Century Woman Media Video HQ 1154 .F53
2001
Forces of Change:
Artists of the Arab World Media Video N7265.43 F672
1994
Goddess Remembered
Media Video BL 473.5 .G62 1990
Hidden Faces
Media Video HQ 1793 .Z75 H54 1990
The Impossible Takes
a Little Longer Media Video HV 3021 .W66 I46 1988
Kathy
Media Video HV 1659.3 W65 K37 1981
Kathy, On My Own
Media Video HV 1659.3 .W65 K38 1985
Mapping Feminism
Media Video HQ 1426 .M28 1993
Not for
Ourselves Alone: The Story of Elizabeth Caty Stanton and Susan B.
Anthony
Media Video (2 vols.) HQ 1412 .N89 1999
The Oratory of
Woman's Suffrage Media Video JK 1896 .O73 2002
Patently
Offensive: Porn Under Siege Media Video HQ 472
.U6P27 1991
A Room of One's
Own (Virginia Woolf) Media Video PR 6045 .O72 Z475
1980
Simone De
Beauvoir Media Video PQ 2603 .E362 Z55
2000
Women, A True
Story Media Video (6 videocassettes) HQ 1236 .W63
1997
Women and Islam
Media Video BP 163 .I76 pt. 6 1994
Women in Japan Media Video HQ 1761 .W66 1986
Videos & DVDs (Drama)
Anna Karenina Media DVD PG 3366 .A6 D88 1998
(The library has several versions of the film, on video and DVD. To
locate these, do a TITLE search for Anna Karenina, select the
"Limit/Sort" option, limiting the "document type" to VIDEOS/FILMS).
Il Cerchio
Media DVD PN 1995.9 .F67167 C48 2001(also on videocassette)
The Color Purple
Media DVD PS 3573 .A425 C65 2003 (also on videocassette)
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Media DVD PN
1995.9 .F6712 W58 2001B (also on videocassette)
Double Happiness
Media Video PN 1995.9 .F6712 D68 1995
Entre Nous Media
DVD PN 1995.9 .F6714 C6 1998 (also on videocassette)
Fire Media DVD PN 1995.9 .H55 F57 1998B
(also on videocassette)
The Fortunes and Misfortunes of Moll Flanders Media Video PR
3404 .F623 1997
Gertrud Media DVD PN 1995.9 .F67125 .G47 2001
The Hours Media DVD PS 3553 .U484 H68 2003
Jane Eyre
Media DVD PR 4167 .J323 1999 (also on videocassette)
The Joy Luck Club
Media DVD PS 3570 .A48 J623 1994 (also on
videocassette)
Mother India Media DVD PN 1995.9 .F67156 M67 2000
(also on videocassette)
The Nouba of the Women of Mount Chenoua Media Video PN 1995.9
.F671 N68 1990Z
The Piano Media
DVD PN 1995.9 L6 P5 1994 (also on videocassette)
Pride and Prejudice Media Video PR 4034 .P723 1995
A Room With a View Media DVD PR 6011 .O58 R62 1987
(also on videocassette)
Taafe Fanga Media Video PN 1995.9 F67177 T3 1997
Thelma & Louise
Media DVD PN 1995.9 .W6 T43 1991 (also on videocassette)
Todo Sobre mi Madre
Media DVD PN 1995.9 .F6718 T6 2000B (also on videocassette)
This list is not exhaustive. To locate more videos and DVDs, go to our
Searching for Videos page.
Back to top
Web Links--A-Z list
There are many sites dedicated to the area of Women's Studies and women's
issues. This is
just a sampling of some very good sites. This list include a few
comprehensive sites and more substantive sites. Most sites are recommendations from the Women's Studies
Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library
Association (http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html)
and the New York Public Library's Research Guide to Women's Studies(http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/grd/resguides/women/women.cfm).
Check back periodically for updates.
American Women: Gateway to
Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture--According
to the description in CHOICE, this site is "not merely a presentation of
digital materials, but a gateway to doing research on the history of women in
the U.S.. . .Users are guided through searching the LC catalogs, finding digital
materials in the American Memory collections and other online exhibits, and
finding relevant Web broadcasts. . . Highly Recommended." CHOICE,
May 2004
American Women's
History: A Research Guide
This guide "provides citations to print
and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary
source
collections. The guide also provides information about
the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles,
dissertations, and primary sources. . .The links to primary sources on the
Internet, categorized into seventy-five sub-fields, make this a goldmine for
students studying American women's history." Reference and User Services
Quarterly, Fall 2004
http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html)
Center for Women & Information Technology--University of Maryland, Baltimore County. ". . .Most notable is Jo Sanders's comprehensive (as of 2005), extensively annotated 'Bibliography on Gender and Technology in Education,' which contains nearly 700 entries and is searchable. . .The Resources section includes a brief list of selected books and journal issues about women and information technology. . .Recommended." P. Finley, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. CHOICE, January 2007.
Feminist Majority Foundation Online--Produced
by the Feminist Majority Foundation, which also published Ms. Magazine, this
site offers information and news not usually reported from other media.
"Up-to-date RSS feeds disseminate national and international news,
job/internship listings. . .highlights FMF's work with campus activism. . .Many
of the linked periodicals offer free full-text material online". M.F.
Jones, East Tennessee State University. CHOICE, Dec. , 2007.
Librarian's Index to the
Internet: Women
Three main headings on this page: "Popular Topics," Health," and "Notable
Women." Links lead to organizations, foundations, full-text biographical
sources, and archival collections (e.g. "Documents from the Women's
Liberation Movement," an online collection from Duke University's Special
Collections library containing pamphlets, flyers and other materials published
from 1969-1974).
National Women's Studies Association
"NWSA is committed to the development of scholarship and research that
incorporates disciplinary, interdisciplinary, multidisciplinary, multicultural,
and/or global methods and perspectives to advance the study and knowledge of all
women. . ." The NWSA recognizes and emphasizes the
"integral connection among scholarship, activism, and teaching."
(28 May 2004
http://www.nwsa.org/greetings.html).
Wisconsin Bibliographies in Women's Studies
A collection of online bibliographies, many annotated, published by the
University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian's Office. The
list of bibliographies is arranged alphabetically by title. The
bibliographies were developed by librarians, women's studies faculty, graduate
students and various staff from the Women's Studies Librarian's Office.
Women in Print: Essays on the Print Culture of American Women From the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries (James P. Danky and Wayne A. Wiegand, eds.)". . .an exceptional overview of the of the important role women played in establishing and contributing to the US book trade. . .Highly recommended" J. Gelfland, University of California, Irvine. CHOICE, July/August 2006.
Women's Resource Center
Library-Truman State University
This collection at Truman's Women's Resource Center has over 1,000 books,
magazines and videos devoted to women's issues. "Everything from
women’s health and psychological well-being to historical, linguistic, and
political issues are represented in our library."
--WRC library home page
Women's Studies Digital Archives--Association of College and Research
Libraries, American Library Association
Women's Studies
Librarian's Office--Women and Gender Resources (University of Wisconsin).
A nicely organized subject list of web sites concerning women, including topics
from agriculture, anthropology, philosophy & feminist theory, to women of
color, women & work and women's associations and organizations worldwide.
Women's
Studies/Women's Issues--WWW Sites (Joan Korenman, University of
Maryland-Baltimore County)
Women's Studies Resources
(Karla
Tonella, University of Iowa)--Contains a list of links arranged by topic, for
example: history, literature, art, women in development, reviews of feminist
theory. A nice feature is their links to current news items
concerning women, from various newspapers and online newsletters.
Back to top
Citing Sources
There are several style manuals available in the library:
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001MLA Style
MLA Handbook
for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides and information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click here.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660) 785-4051 or contact the Reference Librarian for Women's Studies:
Lisa M. Glaubitz, Reference
Librarian
(660) 785-7412
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg