TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Databases
A BCDEFGHIJLMNOPRSTUWNumAll

Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


ACM Digital Library
Includes full text of articles and papers from journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings and newletters published by the ACM and affiliated organizations.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.   

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

AgeLine
Free database for information on social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences.
AGRICOLA, 1970+
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library.  Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.

AITopics
News, videos, podcasts, and links to articles, books, and course materials in the field of artificial intelligence.
America's Historical Imprints
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and  broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
American Chemical Society Archives
Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.

American West

A collection of digitized sources from the the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  This database contains a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources:

  • Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
     
  • The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.
  • The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.
  • Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.
  • Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.

Anthropological Index Online.
Free database
AnthroSource
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.
Archive of Americana
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
  • America's Historical Imprints 

    Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.

  • America's Historical Newspapers 

    Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 1 (2009 ETC); Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 2 (2009 ETC); Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 3 (2009 ETC); Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 4 (2009 ETC) and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.


Art Full Text
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Art Index Retrospective
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
ARTFL Project,
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
ArticleFirst
1990+.  Indexes articles from nearly 12,000 journals of all disciplines.
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files