TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRSTUWNumAll

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)

Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.


Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


ACM Digital Library
Includes full text of articles and papers from journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings and newletters published by the ACM and affiliated organizations.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.   

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

AgeLine
Free database for information on social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences.
AGRICOLA, 1970+
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library.  Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.

AITopics
News, videos, podcasts, and links to articles, books, and course materials in the field of artificial intelligence.
America's Historical Imprints
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and  broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
American Chemical Society Archives
Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.

American West

A collection of digitized sources from the the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  This database contains a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources:

  • Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
     
  • The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.
  • The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.
  • Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.
  • Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.

Anthropological Index Online.
Free database
AnthroSource
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.
Archive of Americana
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
  • America's Historical Imprints 

    Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.

  • America's Historical Newspapers 

    Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 1 (2009 ETC); Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 2 (2009 ETC); Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 3 (2009 ETC); Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 4 (2009 ETC) and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.


Art Full Text
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Art Index Retrospective
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
ARTFL Project,
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
ArticleFirst
1990+.  Indexes articles from nearly 12,000 journals of all disciplines.
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Biography Resource Center

Includes biographies and full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers on people from all eras and fields of endeavor. It also includes tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.


Biological Abstracts, 1969+

Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains more than 10 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year. 


BioMed Central
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 2,450 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

Business Insights: Essentials
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,  and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
CAMIO

CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

This image database is a growing collection of works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.


CCH Tax Research Network
Online access to the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Tax Cases, and the Missouri Tax Reporter as well as other tax literature.

To access the database, you must first create an account on the IntelliConnect page using your Truman email.
China Data Online. 1949+
Historical statistics as well as monthly and yearly macro-economic data from the China Data Center.  Password needed.  Inquire at the Reference Desk.
ChoiceReviewsOnline
Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988, updated monthly.  Reviews significant books and resources of interest to those in higher education.
CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 2900 current nursing and health journals back to 1981+.  Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being indexed. 2-4 simultaneous users.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO).
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 
Company Dossier (LexisNexis)
LexisNexis Dossier allows you to browse in-depth company profiles and industry reports with the best intelligence available through LexisNexis® services. Content includes:

Company information
Business directories, Hoover’s® company information, ICC financial information, the MERGERSTAT® database, SEC filings, Standard & Poor’s® corporate information, and more. When you research a particular company, you will also find their particular NAICS and SIC codes on the company profile.

Intellectual property information
U.S. patents, trademarks, and copyrights

News
The past two years of news from thousands of global publications and same-day news from more than 85 publications

Legal information
Cases (most recent 12 months), CourtLink® Strategic Profiles, Martindale-Hubbell® Law Directory information, Mealey’s™ newsletters


Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Part of Business Source Premier. Profiles for 10,000 companies that include the following types of information: business description, company history, products and services, key employee/biographies, revenue and SWOT analysis and top competitors.
Company Profiles (LexisNexis)

Use the Company Profiles form in Lexis Nexis to search over a dozen company directories, including:

  • Access Disclosure
  • America's Corporate Finance Directory
  • Experian Business Reports
  • Hoover's Company Records
  • CoreData US Institutional Database
  • Nelson's Public Company Profiles
  • Standard & Poor's Corporate Register
Note on Finding DUNS, CUSIP, and Tickers

Most of the directories listed above include the stock market ticker symbol for each company listed. The Standard & Poor's Corporate Register is your best source for all three company identifiers.


Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910

A digitized collection focusing on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. The wide range of original sources include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. The collections and contextual essays by leading scholars are grouped into these five main themes:

  • Conduct and Politeness
  • Domesticity & the Family
  • Consumption & Leisure
  • Education & Sensibility
  • The Body

Digital Library - Truman State University
The Truman State University Digital Library features digitized objects from the holdings of the Pickler Memorial Library Special Collections & University Archives. These include manuscripts, photographs, glass slides, vintage sheet music, and other unique and rare items. Please check back as new items and collections will be added on a continuing basis.
Digital National Security Archive

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.


Discovering Collection
A collection of essays, critical analyses, biographical information, primary sources, and multimedia elements in the core subject areas of history, literature, biography, science and social studies.
Dissertations and Theses
Obtain the full text of theses written at Truman State University, 1997+.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800
The Library Company of Philadelphia supplement collection offers nearly 1,000 rare and unique items printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation.
Early American Imprints, Series II : Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States,this database provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century -- based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker
Early American Imprints, Series II : Supplement LCP 1801-1819
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, most of which were not included in Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker's American Bibliography.
Searchable database of digitzed books & pamphlets published during the early part of the 19th century.
eBook Clinical Collection (EBSCO)
Designed for use in clinical settings, biomedical libraries and academic-medical institutions, this subscription collection features over 1,700 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
EBSCOHost
A large collection of article databases reaching across all disciplines.  Includes both scholary and popular journals, many with full text available.  From the main listing that comes up, choose to search any of the listed databases or search in two or more.  Databases include Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premiere, America: History and Life, and Communication and Mass Media Complete.
EconLit
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers.  Four simultaneous users.
Economic Report of the President
An overview of the president's budget policies and economic outlook for a given year.
eHRAF World Cultures
Produced by Human Relations Area File, Yale University, this is a unique cross-cultural database currently covering 230 cultures; useful for many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities and medicine and any area concerned with cultural diversity. 
Eighteenth Century Journals II
A collection  of digitized newspapers and periodicals from the 18th century. Material is drawn from London, Dublin and Edinburgh, as well as many local and provincial publications.

Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include:

  • Acts by the Parliament de Paris in opposition to the French Court
  • The writings of Sir Isaac Newton
  • The writings of Corneille and Racine
  • Pagan deities
  • The waters of Buxton and other spa towns and visits to the Lake District
  • Poets of the Romantic Period
  • Medicines
  • The French Revolution
  • Theatrical Performances
  • Reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe
  • Political debates
  • Coffee house gossip and discussion

eMO - eBook Collection
MOBIUS and EBSCO eBooks partnered to make this  collection of over 138,000 eBook titles available to participating MOBIUS libraries.

Also known as eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Encyclopaedia Judaica.


Energy Citations Database
2.6 million science research citations 1943+  Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
English Historical Documents
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
On the Web through EBSCO.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.
Europa World
Online version of the Europa World Year Book.  Contains political and economic informatin on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.
FDsys - Federal Digital System
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.


Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and guidebooks, organized by subject area
GeoRef
A comprehensive geosciences database, produced by the American Geological Institute, containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing, as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
GEOSCAN
A bibliographic database of over 40,000 records, most of which are Geological Survey of Canada publications.  Searchable by title, author, and subject, area.  Searches can be limited by province. Free site.
Google Books
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.  Many older books and government documents are full-text.  Shows you the closest library that owns a book.  Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Grove Music Online.


Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)

Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.


Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress. 
HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s. 

The collection consists of six core data sets:

  • U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. In total the collection covers more than 140 million names.
  • Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Titles have been digitized from our own renowned microform collections, as well from the American Antiquarian Society via an exclusive partnership.
  • Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by the Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.
  • Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.
  • Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
  • LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Historical Census Browser
Using U.S. Census data from 1790-1960, this site allows you to :
  • Examine state and county topics for individual census years as well as over time.
  • Produce tables of state and county data
  • Generate maps of selected data

Homeland Security Digital Database
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world, approximately 360 cultures of indexed ethnographic information comprise this collection. This set can be used for cultural comparisons (for example, mythology, taboos, causes of illness, ethnobotany) or for studying all aspects of a particular culture (Copper Eskimo, Iroquois, Trobriands and many more).  The HRAF collection is organized according to two main print resources:  The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), both located on top of Cabinet 59 where the fiche are filed.
The Index to the Human Relations Area Files,1974-1983 (Microform Reference GN 25 I542) is a subject index to the microfiche set organized by OCM category code.  The index is most useful for determining the coverage of a subject in a file without going directly to the files themselves.

See eHRAF World cultures (listed above) to browse those Human Relations Area Files that are now online.  NOTE: Not all HRAF cultures that are in the microfiche collection are online as of yet.  It is a project that is ongoing. 
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Information Bridge

 Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy Research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.


Informe
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this reference tool provides full-text of popular Hispanic magazines - not just translations.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, and encyclopedia entries pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 AD). This material has been collected from 10,360 publications, including 1,710 journals.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
L'Année Philologique Online
 L' Année philologiqueis a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique


Le Grand Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise.


LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library  has over 300 online academic and licensing practice tests including SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, Advanced Placement, civil service, military, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, TOEFL, ESL and basic skills for elementary, middle and high school skills. Test preparation materials span ages from elementary through adult.

You must register to create a personal account to view resources and take tests.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


LexisNexis News
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
Library Catalog
This is the catalog for all books, periodicals, movies, cds, pictures, music scores, audiobooks and electronic sources in Pickler Memorial Library at Truman State University.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
MAS Ultra – School Edition
This database is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Master Theses at Truman


MathSciNet : Mathematical Reviews on the Web
Provides comprehensive coverage of pure and applied mathematics literature, both monographs and journals.  Includes Current Index to Statistics.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed.    Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
MedlinePlus
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
MOBIUS-Missouri Academic Libraries
Combined catalog of materials from Missouri academic libraries. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
Economic and social statistics of the countries in the world, collected by the United Nations.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - ArXiv Preprints
Open access to 545,099 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.  From Cornell University.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - Astronomy and Astrophysics Index
Article bibliographic citations from planetary science and solar physics journals.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - Physics and Geophysics Index
Bibliographic citations from the American Physical Society journals.
National Agricultural Library


National Agricultural Library Digital Repository
The National Agricultural Library Digital Repository (NALDR) provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Contains summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Covers items published from early 1970's to the present. 
More information from various government agencies (mainly from the Department of Justice) are listed under the "Data/Statistics" section.
National Science Digital Library
 A digital library of "exemplary resources collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels."  You may ask a science, math, or technology question through the AskNSDL question and answer service.
Naxos Music Library
An extensive collection of Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music recordings.  Users can also read notes about the music and biographical information about the composers while listening to the recordings.
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Provides full text of NBER Working Papers,1994 to the present.  Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present.
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.

Users can search for  articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings. 
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com
The link takes you to the free special collections portion of the archive. Includes newspapers from the 18th century to the present.  A membership fee is required for searching the complete archive.
Open Online Courses in Mathematics
Catalog of open-courseware mathematics courses from MIT, UC-Berkeley, UI-Urbana/Champagne, and other institutions. Topics include calculus, analysis, number theory, geometry, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.

Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example:  "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of  the  Opposing Viewpoint Series.
OregonPDF - Kinesiology Publications

This is an index to theses in exercise science. Pickler Library has the actual theses on microfiche. It is called Health, Physical Education and Recreation Microform Publications. They were compiled by the University of Oregon. The early years were called Microform Publications Bulletin. Ceased publication in 2006. Some of these are digitized. at OregonPDF.


PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences.

Persée
Established by the ministère de l'éducation nationale, Persée provides full-text access to the back files of French journals in the social and human sciences.  The interface is available in both French and English.
Philosopher's Index
This index provides article citations to journals and books in philosophy and related disciplines including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics,and logic.  Material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, and history is also included. 
Physical Review Online Archive 1893+
A full text archive of articles from  Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
POPLINE
Population information online: abstracts of the worldwide literature on population, family planning, and related health issues.
Primary Search
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

PrimateLit, 1940+
A biblliographic database of book and periodical citations on any topic involving primates, from paleontology through field and lab behavior to medical research.
Pro-And-Con
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest,  Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
ProceedingsFirst
Index of conference publications.

Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for nearly 520 high-quality education journals.

Project MUSE
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

ProQuest Congressional
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Proquest Criminal Justice
Index to U.S. and international journals in criminal justice.  Articles cover law enforcement, corrections administration, rehabilitation, family law and other areas.  Coverage goes back to 1975 and roughly 245 journals are indexed, with 90 of these providing full text articles.  Some coverage of sociologcial and psychological theories of crime is included.
ProQuest Statistical abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
PsycARTICLES
Full text access to over 50 journals of the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Public Affairs Index

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.


PubMed
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLineGoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
PubMed Central
Full text of life science research articles.
Readers' Guide Retrospective.
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
Regional Business News
Provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications.
Revues.org
Full-text access to French journals in the social and human sciences.  It is possible to search all journals or a specific title.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York.  Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered. Contains records in over 200 languages.
Rock's Back Pages
Archive of reviews, interviews, and feature stories on current and past rock musicians from major music publications.
Safari Books Online
Over 1,000 complete computer and technical books and manuals for online reading.  Also includes some e-books on business and public policy.  Limit 5 simultaneous users.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Research
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

SciFinder - Chemical Abstracts, 1907-

SciFinder  provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search  millions of citations to the chemistry literature. More than 22 million chemical substances may be searched. 

SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes and only available to the Truman Community.

 You must first register to use SciFinder from a Truman network computer and use your truman.edu email address in the registration process.

Click to register:  
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1BDD2152X86F350ABX75AEB531435CA4D124

Already created your account? Go here: https://scifinder.cas.org.


Help Desk Phone: 800-848-6533



 

 


Scitation/ SPIN
1893+ One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
Social Explorer
An interactive database providing access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present.  Includes over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports taken from census data.
SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
SPORTDiscus
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS).  Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Includes recent developments, industry basics, and company data. About 50 industries are included.

Industry Surveys are a subset of the S&P's NetAdvantage database.
*Must be on the Truman Network to use.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

 
NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.

Key components include:

  • S&P's Industry Surveys that have peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format
  • S&P's company analysis - Stock Reports and Company Profiles with evaluations of business activities and opportunities, plus - Compustat Excel Analytics with standardized financials
  • Stocks repots and Mutual Funds research

 


Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases: 
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper Source
TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including:  Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.

Trudex
Index to Truman publications including:
  • Northeast Review
  • Purple Pride
  • Kirksville Daily Express (selected issues)
  • Index
  • Pundit
  • Echo
  • Nemoscope Notes
  • Northeast Today
  • Bite This!
  • Truman Today
  • Truman Review

United Nations Environment Programme
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Web site provides regional and global environmental information focusing on UNEPs six priority areas: Climate Change; Disasters and Conflicts; Ecosystem Management; Environmental Governance; Harmful Substances; and Resource Efficiency. They have freely available publications online including: annual reports, atlases, serials and ebooks.
Wall Street Journal
Full text of the newspaper from 1984 to the present.
Washington Post Articles Archive 1877 - the present
Indexes articles published in the Washington Post from 1877 to the present.  Users can search for specific articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.  Searching is free and the full-text is available for purchase through this web site or you can use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1993+
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week.  Can be browsed or searched by keyword.
WorldCat
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.


WorldCat Dissertations
Catalog of theses and dissertations contained in the WorldCat database.


Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files