TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Databases
ABCDEFGH IJLMNOPRSTUWNumAll

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress. 
HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s. 

The collection consists of six core data sets:

  • U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. In total the collection covers more than 140 million names.
  • Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Titles have been digitized from our own renowned microform collections, as well from the American Antiquarian Society via an exclusive partnership.
  • Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by the Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.
  • Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.
  • Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
  • LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Historical Census Browser
Using U.S. Census data from 1790-1960, this site allows you to :
  • Examine state and county topics for individual census years as well as over time.
  • Produce tables of state and county data
  • Generate maps of selected data

Homeland Security Digital Database
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world, approximately 360 cultures of indexed ethnographic information comprise this collection. This set can be used for cultural comparisons (for example, mythology, taboos, causes of illness, ethnobotany) or for studying all aspects of a particular culture (Copper Eskimo, Iroquois, Trobriands and many more).  The HRAF collection is organized according to two main print resources:  The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), both located on top of Cabinet 59 where the fiche are filed.
The Index to the Human Relations Area Files,1974-1983 (Microform Reference GN 25 I542) is a subject index to the microfiche set organized by OCM category code.  The index is most useful for determining the coverage of a subject in a file without going directly to the files themselves.

See eHRAF World cultures (listed above) to browse those Human Relations Area Files that are now online.  NOTE: Not all HRAF cultures that are in the microfiche collection are online as of yet.  It is a project that is ongoing. 
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files