TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRS TUWNumAll

Safari Books Online
Over 1,000 complete computer and technical books and manuals for online reading.  Also includes some e-books on business and public policy.  Limit 5 simultaneous users.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Research
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

SciFinder - Chemical Abstracts, 1907-

SciFinder  provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search  millions of citations to the chemistry literature. More than 22 million chemical substances may be searched. 

SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes and only available to the Truman Community.

 You must first register to use SciFinder from a Truman network computer and use your truman.edu email address in the registration process.

Click to register:  
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1BDD2152X86F350ABX75AEB531435CA4D124

Already created your account? Go here: https://scifinder.cas.org.


Help Desk Phone: 800-848-6533



 

 


Scitation/ SPIN
1893+ One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
Social Explorer
An interactive database providing access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present.  Includes over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports taken from census data.
SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
SPORTDiscus
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS).  Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Includes recent developments, industry basics, and company data. About 50 industries are included.

Industry Surveys are a subset of the S&P's NetAdvantage database.
*Must be on the Truman Network to use.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

 
NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.

Key components include:

  • S&P's Industry Surveys that have peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format
  • S&P's company analysis - Stock Reports and Company Profiles with evaluations of business activities and opportunities, plus - Compustat Excel Analytics with standardized financials
  • Stocks repots and Mutual Funds research

 


Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files