SubjectsPlus: ART 328 - The Art of Greece and Rome

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
TruSearch

Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
L'Année Philologique Online Restricted Resource
 L' Année philologiqueis a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique


Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Brill's New Pauly : Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
Print Location: Reference DE5 .N4913 2002
This multivolume encyclopedia is the most extensive, scholarly reference work in English on all aspects of the ancient Greco-Roman world.  It can be a great help in understanding the political, social, and cultural history of the time in which the art was created.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Classical Studies: a guide to the reference literature.
Print Location: Reference PA 91 J45 1996 Restricted Resource

Dictionary of Art. (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Print Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts.  It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology -
Print Location: Reference DE 5 .E5 1996

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) (ISSN 1055-7660) publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
ChoiceReviewsOnline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988, updated monthly.  Reviews significant books and resources of interest to those in higher education.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Web Sites

Ancient Greek World
A virtual gallery from the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
Art History Resources on the Web
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
ArtCyclopedia
A searchable guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files