SubjectsPlus: Agriculture

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics Resource contains images Some full text available

AGRICOLA, 1970+ openURL
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library.  Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.

AGRIS/CARIS International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology
This UN FAO-based Web site was developed in 1974 and treats all aspects of agriculture.   There are 199 national organizations that contribute to the site and they add approximately 14,000 items per month.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
National Agricultural Library Digital Repository Resource contains images Some full text available
The National Agricultural Library Digital Repository (NALDR) provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions.
SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
ISIHighlyCited.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
National Agricultural Hall of Fame Resource contains images Some full text available
Contains biographical information and pictures of the agriculturalists who have been inducted to the National Agricultural Hall of Fame.

New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

Agricultural Fact Book (USDA) Some full text available
General facts on agriculture.
Agricultural Statistics (USDA) Some full text available
Contains statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Census of Agriculture Some full text available
is now taken every five years, and provides statistics by state, county and zip code.  Optional access for Older years (courtesy of Cornell University).
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Print Location: HF 1041 C5622 Restricted Resource Some full text available
This book includes production, supply, exports, imports, price and futures information for agricultural and other commodities.
Economic Research Service (USDA) Some full text available
Conducts research on trends in the agriculture and food sector. Many of their publications are now available online.
FAOSTAT
Provides access to international data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
National Agricultural Statistics Service Some full text available
Provides access to some basic statistics and also links to their full text publications (mounted at Cornell University).

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 360 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches in the Truman catalog and other library resources. Includes the Complete Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology and the Handbook of Vegetable Pests
Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science.
Print Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Government Information

Science.gov Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Library Catalogs

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

University of Missouri Extension Some full text available
MU Extension publishes a wide range of research-based information that can help you make informed decisions to improve your life at home and work.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Brownfield Network Some full text available
A daily news snapshot of US and world agriculture.
Current Research Information System (CRIS-USDA) Restricted Resource Some full text available
CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.
INFOMINE Some full text available
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites.  It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences.  Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked  for status by the Libraries of the University of California.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files