TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionary of Art. (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Print Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts.  It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Encyclopedia of World Art.
Print Location: Reference N 31 E4833

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Primary Sources

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals
Print Location: Reference N 6510 .S35 1999
This two volume set indexes about 40 American art periodicals that were published during the 19th century.
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present. Some full text available
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.

Users can search for  articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings. 
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Early index to articles in published in US and British journals and magazines between 1802-1906.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
Print Location: Reference Z2005 H6
A subject and author index to articles published in Britian between 1824-1900 Includes an index for book reviews.

Specialized Sources

CAMIO Restricted Resource Resource contains images

CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

This image database is a growing collection of works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.


Collecting and Provenance Research - Getty Research Institute
A research guide for scholars interested in the history of collecting, provenance, and display around the world and includes the Getty Provenance Index® databases, which contain 1.1 million records taken from source material such as archival inventories, auction catalogs, and dealer stock books.
Getty Research Institute
Portal to the Getty Research Institute's search tools and databases, including their library catalog, research guides and digital collections.

Some resources on this site are restricted to those affliated with the Getty Institute and are not freely avaialbe to the general public.
MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal tothe  Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.

MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for almost every title, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met bibliographies by author, theme, or keyword. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost. Books can be previewed or read and searched through the Google Books program. Many out-of-print books are available for purchase, when rights permit, through print-on-demand capabilities in association with Yale University Press.

 

Web Sites

Art History Resources on the Web
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
ArtCyclopedia
A searchable guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418