SubjectsPlus: ART 327 - Egyptian Art

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource openURL
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

Who was who in Egyptology -
Print Location: Reference PJ1063 .D3 1995

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Lexikon der Ägyptologie -
Print Location: Reference DT58 L49 1975 Bd. 1-7

Dictionary of Art. (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Print Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts.  It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt -
Print Location: Reference DT58 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture -
Print Location: Reference NA215 .A7613 2003

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt -
Print Location: Reference DT58 .O94 2001

Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology -
Print Location: Reference DE 5 .E5 1996

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Specialized Sources

Early English Books Restricted Resource
A microfilm collection of nearly every English book published from the invention of printing to 1640-1700. It is based on a list called Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland and Ireland, and of English books printed abroad, 1475-1640.
Try a keyword search in the library catalog:  early english books AND alexandria
Google Books Some full text available
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.  Many older books and government documents are full-text.  Shows you the closest library that owns a book.  Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals
Print Location: Reference N 6510 .S35 1999
This two volume set indexes about 40 American art periodicals that were published during the 19th century.
MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal tothe  Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.

MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for almost every title, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met bibliographies by author, theme, or keyword. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost. Books can be previewed or read and searched through the Google Books program. Many out-of-print books are available for purchase, when rights permit, through print-on-demand capabilities in association with Yale University Press.

 
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.

Web Sites

Art History Resources on the Web
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
Egyptology Resources
This Web site is set up with the kind assistance of the Fitzwilliam Museum Cambridge to provide a World Wide Web resource for Egyptological information.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418