SubjectsPlus: Biography

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Biography Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes biographies and full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers on people from all eras and fields of endeavor. It also includes tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.


LexisNexis Academic Biographical Information Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from newspapers and magazines
Newspapers
Links to all kinds of newspapers, old and new.
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.

Biographical Information

American Presidents: Life Portraits Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Features basic biographical information and "fun facts" about the nations presidents. Includes videos and sound clips.
Biographical Dictionary Resource contains images Some full text available
Biographies of 28,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day.

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Biography.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Has free brief full-text biographies

Contemporary Authors.
Print Location: Reference PN453 .C614 Restricted Resource

Current Biography.
Print Location: Reference CT 100 C8 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Articles that are several pages in length about living leaders in all fields of human accomplishment. Includes a bibliography
Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Print Location: Reference CT 103 E56 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Has several page articles about the 7,000 most famous people of all time. Includes a bibliography.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


the-artists.org Resource contains images Some full text available
Biograhies of major modern & contemporary visual artists.  Some links lead to fee-based content.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
37 biographical encyclopedias on people from all walks of life.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Browse Journals
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files