SubjectsPlus: Biology

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Biological Abstracts, 1969+ Restricted Resource openURL

Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains more than 10 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year. 


Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Information Bridge Some full text available

 Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy Research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Particularly useful for ecology, botany and history of science. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PrimateLit, 1940+
A biblliographic database of book and periodical citations on any topic involving primates, from paleontology through field and lab behavior to medical research.
PubMed Central Some full text available
Full text of life science research articles.
SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
ISIHighlyCited.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

Scientific American Science Desk Reference.
Print Location: Reference Q 173 S397 1996 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 1,700 answers to frequently-asked or difficult-to-answer questions. Check Table of Contents here.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
All about Birds-Bird Guide Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Bird identification guide complete with physical characteristics, behavior, habitat, sound and video.

Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Reference QR 81 B46 2001 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Very detailed descriptions of bacteria.  Arranged according to procaryotic taxonomy. Vol. 1 is The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria.  Vol. 2 is The Proteobacteria  Vol. 3 is The Firmicutes.  Vol. 4 is The Bacteroidetes, Planctomycetes, Chlamydiae, Spirochetes, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia, Dictyoglomi, and Gemmatimonadetes.  Vol. 5 will be The Actinobacteria  when it is published. Check contents here.
Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Covers all the major fields within the science, including anatomy, biochemistry, ecology, evolutionary theory, genetics, molecular biology, physiology and taxonomy. Describes techniques and tests commonly used in biology, explains statistical terms and includes biographical details of important biologists
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Genetics.
Print Location: Reference QH 427 E53 2002 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Detailed articles about all aspects of genetics.  Most articles have references at the end. Check contents here.

Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources Resource contains images Some full text available
The directory and search engine of insect-related resources on the Internet.
McGraw Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Print Location: Reference Q 121 M3 2007 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A multi-volume basic science encyclopedia.

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Field Guides

eNature.com Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.

Government Information

Missouri Department of Natural Resources Resource contains images Some full text available
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
National Biological Information Infrastructure Resource contains images Some full text available
An electronic gateway to biological data and information maintained by federal, state and local government agencies, private sector organizations and other partners around the nation and the world.

Science.gov Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

BioEd Online: Biology Teacher Resources from Baylor College of Medicine Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
This is an online magazine for biology teachers from kindergarten on up. It has articles on hot topics, presentations, slide sets and classroom activities.

Biological Control Resource contains images Some full text available
An integrated pest management resources discusses the characteristics of and dynamics between natural agents and the pests they attack.

Encyclopedia of Life Resource contains images Some full text available
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious, even audacious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species—that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge. The entry-point for each site is a species page suitable for the general public, but with several linked pages aimed at more specialized users.
INFOMINE Some full text available
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites.  It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences.  Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked  for status by the Libraries of the University of California.

NatureServe Explorer Some full text available
NatureServe Explorer provides conservation status, taxonomy, distribution, and life history information for more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities and systems in the United States and Canada. You can search this with common names, scientific names and ecological community names.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files