SubjectsPlus: Business

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,  and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Company Dossier (LexisNexis) Restricted Resource Some full text available
LexisNexis Dossier allows you to browse in-depth company profiles and industry reports with the best intelligence available through LexisNexis® services. Content includes:

Company information
Business directories, Hoover’s® company information, ICC financial information, the MERGERSTAT® database, SEC filings, Standard & Poor’s® corporate information, and more. When you research a particular company, you will also find their particular NAICS and SIC codes on the company profile.

Intellectual property information
U.S. patents, trademarks, and copyrights

News
The past two years of news from thousands of global publications and same-day news from more than 85 publications

Legal information
Cases (most recent 12 months), CourtLink® Strategic Profiles, Martindale-Hubbell® Law Directory information, Mealey’s™ newsletters


Company Profiles (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Part of Business Source Premier. Profiles for 10,000 companies that include the following types of information: business description, company history, products and services, key employee/biographies, revenue and SWOT analysis and top competitors.
Company Profiles (LexisNexis) Restricted Resource

Use the Company Profiles form in Lexis Nexis to search over a dozen company directories, including:

  • Access Disclosure
  • America's Corporate Finance Directory
  • Experian Business Reports
  • Hoover's Company Records
  • CoreData US Institutional Database
  • Nelson's Public Company Profiles
  • Standard & Poor's Corporate Register
Note on Finding DUNS, CUSIP, and Tickers

Most of the directories listed above include the stock market ticker symbol for each company listed. The Standard & Poor's Corporate Register is your best source for all three company identifiers.


EconLit Restricted Resource openURL
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers.  Four simultaneous users.
Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the newspaper from 1984 to the present.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications.

Data/Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.

Government Information

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Value Line Investment Survey -
Print Location: Reference HG4501 .V32 Restricted Resource
Comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 98 industries, the stock market, and the economy. 

Cabell's Business Directories
Cabell Publishing, Inc. produces directories of publishing opportunities in the following areas:
  • Accounting
  • Economics and Finance
  • Management
  • Marketing

CCH Tax Research Network Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online access to the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Tax Cases, and the Missouri Tax Reporter as well as other tax literature.

To access the database, you must first create an account on the IntelliConnect page using your Truman email.
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of NBER Working Papers,1994 to the present.  Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys Restricted Resource
Includes recent developments, industry basics, and company data. About 50 industries are included.

Industry Surveys are a subset of the S&P's NetAdvantage database.
*Must be on the Truman Network to use.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Restricted Resource Some full text available

 
NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.

Key components include:

  • S&P's Industry Surveys that have peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format
  • S&P's company analysis - Stock Reports and Company Profiles with evaluations of business activities and opportunities, plus - Compustat Excel Analytics with standardized financials
  • Stocks repots and Mutual Funds research

 


Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Web Sites

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files