SubjectsPlus: COMM 382 - Communication Theory

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
TruSearch
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO). Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,  and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Print Location: Reference P87.5 .E496 2009

International Encyclopedia of Communication.
Print Location: REF P 87.5 I58 2008 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Web Sites

American Communication Association
An annotated collection of communication-related links organized by subfields within the communication discipline.
American Rhetoric
Scholarly and practical information on the study and use of rhetoric, including an Online Speech Bank of over 5000 full text, audio, and video versions of speeches, sermons, debates, interviews and other well-known oratory.
Center for Communication
An independend media forum launched in 1980 to bridge the gap between the communication industry and the schools.  Site contains information on upcoming programs and events, job tips, and links to other media-related pages.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Browse Journals
Communication & Mass Media

A few core titles:
  • Communication monographs
  • Communication quarterly
  • Communication research
  • Communication research trends
  • Communication studies
  • Communication theory
  • Critical studies in media communication
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files