SubjectsPlus: Chemistry

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


American Chemical Society Archives Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available
Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Information Bridge Some full text available

 Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy Research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
SciFinder - Chemical Abstracts, 1907- Restricted Resource

SciFinder  provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search  millions of citations to the chemistry literature. More than 22 million chemical substances may be searched. 

SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes and only available to the Truman Community.

 You must first register to use SciFinder from a Truman network computer and use your truman.edu email address in the registration process.

Click to register:  
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1BDD2152X86F350ABX75AEB531435CA4D124

Already created your account? Go here: https://scifinder.cas.org.


Help Desk Phone: 800-848-6533



 

 


Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Biographies of Famous Chemists Resource contains images Some full text available
Weblinks to biographies of 330 famous chemists.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
ISIHighlyCited.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

Chem.com Product Catalogs Some full text available
Database to chemical supply catalogs on the web.  Searchable by chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula or catalog number.  Has a large list of company catalogs.

Chemical Calculations-University of Cambridge Resource contains images Some full text available
Forms which calculate many basic chemical calculations for you.  Movable molecules of substances like DNA.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Print Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Many tables of information.  Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.

KnowledgeDoor
Has constants; conversion factors; mathematical equasions; a periodic table; physical, electronic and thermodynamic properties for all elements-anything form elasticity to interatomic distance and everything in between. Every single piece of information is hyperlinked to a list of full primary or secondary citations.

PubChem Resource contains images Some full text available
Provides basic information about chemical substances, particularly drugs.  Has a Bioassay Index and a Chemical Structures Search. From the National Library of Medicine.

Sigma-Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals Resource contains images Some full text available
This is the catalog for chemicals sold by the Aldrich Chemical Company. It is very large.  Each substance has a picture, chemical name, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, some properties, safety information, and some references.

Web Elements Resource contains images Some full text available
The periodic table of elements.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 2007.
Print Location: Reference QD 5 .C5 2007 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 K54 2007 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Presents key information from the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed.  It includes information on the properties, manufacture and uses of chemical and materials; scientific and engineering principles; processes and ane environmental, health and economic concerns.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 E685 1992 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Click here for contents.
McGraw Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Print Location: Reference Q 121 M3 2007 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A multi-volume basic science encyclopedia.

Merck Index.
Print Location: Reference RS 51 M4 2006 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Detailed description of 10,500 chemicals, drugs and biological substances.  Gives chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, physical properties, references, some structure images, derivative compounds, alternate names, therapeutic uses.  There are several special indexes including one for name reactions.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Hazardous Materials Some full text available
This tells what to do if someone has been exposed to a hazardous material.  It has first aid, personal protection and sanitation, respiration rates.  It has a topic index and a site search. From the Centers for Disease Control.

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Government Information

Science.gov Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network Resource contains images Some full text available
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including:  Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.

Handbooks & Guides

NIST Webbook Resource contains images Some full text available
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Chemistry Laboratory-Truman State University Resource contains images Some full text available
This useful manual describes the chemistry class laboratories for Truman State University.  It includes how to set up equipment.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Household Products Database Some full text available
Hazardous chemical data of household products such as pesticides, cosmetics, cleaning materials, etc.  Searchable by product brand, ingredients, manufacturer, and health effects. From the National Library of Medicine.

INFOMINE Some full text available
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. It has a special section for physical sciences, engineering, computer science and mathematics. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files