TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource openURL
On the Web through EBSCO.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Primary Search Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.

Biographical Information

Children's Authors and Illustrators: An Index to Biographical dictionaries.
Print Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C463 1995 Restricted Resource

Contemporary Authors.
Print Location: Reference PN453 .C614 Restricted Resource

Something About the Author.
Print Location: Reference PN451 .S6 Restricted Resource

Twentieth Century Children's Writers.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 T9 1995 Restricted Resource

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Children and books.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009. A1 S879 1986 Restricted Resource Some full text available

Children's literature: an illustrated history.
Print Location: General Collection PR 990 .C495 1995 Restricted Resource Some full text available

International companion encyclopedia of children's literature.
Print Location: Reference PN 1008.5 I57 1996 Restricted Resource Some full text available

Research and professional resources in children's literature.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 R47 1995 Restricted Resource

Who's who in children's books.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 F575 Restricted Resource

World through children's books.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 W67 2002 Restricted Resource

Worlds within: children's fantasy from the Middle Ages to today.
Print Location: General Collection PR 830 F3 E43 1988 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Best books for young adult readers.
Print Location: General Collection Z1037 .C34 2007 Restricted Resource

Children's Book Review Index.
Print Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C575 Restricted Resource

Children's literature awards and winners.
Print Location: Reference PN1009.A1 C545 1994 Restricted Resource

Children's Literature Review.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139 Restricted Resource

Elementary school library collection.
Print Location: Reference Z1037. E4 Restricted Resource

Index to children's plays in collections, 1975-1986.
Print Location: Reference PN 1627.T73 1986

Index to children's plays in collections.
Print Location: Reference PN 1627. K7 1977 Restricted Resource

Index to children's songs.
Print Location: General Collection ML128.S3 P 48 Restricted Resource

Index to Fairy Tales.
Print Location: Reference PN 6071 F 15 E37 Restricted Resource

Index to Poetry for Children and Young People.
Print Location: Reference PN 1023 B72 Restricted Resource

Master index to summaries of children's books.
Print Location: Reference PN1009.A1 P477 1985 Restricted Resource

Plays for Children and Young Adults.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1627 K37 1991 Restricted Resource

Storyteller's sourcebook: a subject, title and motif index to folkore collections for children.
Print Location: Reference GR 74.6 M3 1982 Restricted Resource

Subject Index to Poetry for Children and young People.
Print Location: Reference PN 1023. A5 Restricted Resource

Book Review Index.
Print Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59 Restricted Resource
1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews.  About 450 publications are included.

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Tips
The Library has a large collection of more than 11,000 children's books.  Members of the Truman community (faculty, staff, students, administration) may check them out for 30 days, guest borrowers may check them out for 14 days.  This JUVENILE COLLECTION is located on the second floor in the Curriculum Library.  All of the books are listed in the Library Catalog by author, by title, by keyword and children's subject heading.
The Juvenile Collection has all of the Newbery and Caldecott winners, the Mark Twain Awards, and many others. Here is a list of the Missouri Awards.
The Curriculum Library also contains a collection of textbooks used in the public schools, as well as educational models and games.  These are all listed in the Truman's Library Catalog. 
The library also helps sponsor an annual Children's Literature Festival each April.  Check out the authors highlighted this year.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files