SubjectsPlus: College Guides

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
General Sources
ShawGuides, Inc.  Guides to alternative careers like cooking, photography, golf...

Study Abroad Search Engine  This website offers extensive and up-to-date information concerning thousands of academic programs, overseas universities, study abroad programs and language schools around the world.
All Items by Source

Government Information

FAFSA - Free Application for Federal Student Aid Some full text available

"The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (known as the FAFSA) is a form that can be prepared annually by current and prospective college students (undergraduate and graduate) in the United States to determine their eligibility for student financial aid (including the Pell Grant, Federal student loans and Federal Work-Study).[1]

Despite its name, the application is not for a single federal program, being rather the gateway of consideration for:

  1. the nine federal student-aid programs
  2. the 605 state aid programs
  3. most of the institutional aid available" (Wikipedia)

Web Sites

American Universities Some full text available
 Maintained by the University of Florida.  Provides links to home pages for American Universities granting bachelor or advanced degrees. Alphabetical order, no state listing.
College Navigator Some full text available
 Information on cost, statistics on degrees awarded, enrollment, student demographics.
FinAid Some full text available
A guide to financial aid.

Gradschools.com Some full text available
The site is arranged in a directory format with listings categorized by curriculum, then where necessary, subdivided by geography.
GRE Online
Includes information on the GRE tests for graduate school, including test centers, registration and sample test questions.

Petersons.com Some full text available
Information on undergraduate and graduate programs.

U.S. News & World Report Education Best Colleges
Provides: National university rankings; liberal arts colleges rankings; regional colleges rankings; regional universities rankings; best value schools; A+ for B students; up and coming schools; top public schools; most international students.

U.S. News & World Report Education Grad Schools Some full text available
 US News, known since 1983 for its higher education rankings, presents a site with graduate rankings.
Web U.S. Universities, Alphabetical
Maintained by the University of Texas-Austin, containing an alphabetical list of regionally-accredited U.S. universities.

Web U.S. Universities, By State Some full text available
Maintained by UT-Austin containing a list of regionally-accredited U.S. universities by state.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files