TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO). Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 

Biographical Information

Contemporary Theater, Film, and Television
Print Location: REF PN 2208 .W52 Restricted Resource

A comprehensive 51-volume biographical dictionary of those in the theater and entertainment fields


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionary of Communications Technology: Terms, Definitions and Abbreviations Restricted Resource Some full text available

Reference for IS professionals, consultants and engineers.  Allows for checking exact specifications, definitions, characteristics, options, relay diagrams, paths, alignments, sources, codes, events, tables, sequences, tradenames, methods, and numerous other vital facts.


Dictionary of Media Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
A basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Print Location: Reference P87.5 .E496 2009

Focal Dictionary of Telecommunications Restricted Resource Some full text available

A dicionary written by experts with specialist knowledge, includes terms, definitions and acronyms, and line drawings.


Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Print Location: REF PN 4877 .G35 Restricted Resource

International Encyclopedia of Communication.
Print Location: REF P 87.5 I58 2008 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Web Sites

Advertisement Avenue
A free archive of television advertisements
American Communication Association
An annotated collection of communication-related links organized by subfields within the communication discipline.
American Press Institute
Devoted to the training and development of people in the news industry and in journalism education.

American Rhetoric
Scholarly and practical information on the study and use of rhetoric, including an Online Speech Bank of over 5000 full text, audio, and video versions of speeches, sermons, debates, interviews and other well-known oratory.
Broadcast Net
Home page of the broadcast industry.  Contains links to numerous other pages on audio and video systems and broadcast media.
Center for Communication
An independend media forum launched in 1980 to bridge the gap between the communication industry and the schools.  Site contains information on upcoming programs and events, job tips, and links to other media-related pages.
Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism

A non partisan project of the Pew Research Center in Washington D.C. devoted to studying and evaluating the performance of the press through content analysis and empirical methods.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Dan McGurk

Dan McGurk
Reference & Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 4528