TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

BioMed Central Some full text available
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 2900 current nursing and health journals back to 1981+.  Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being indexed. 2-4 simultaneous users.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO). Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource openURL
On the Web through EBSCO.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
MedLine, 1950+ Restricted Resource openURL
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMedGoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
MedLine, 1950+ Restricted Resource openURL
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMedGoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
PubMed Central Some full text available
Full text of life science research articles.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Electronic version of a very famous medical dictionary and encyclopedia.
Hegde's PocketGuide to Treatment in Speech-Language Pathology.
Print Location: Reference RC 423 H38296 2001 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders. Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This encyclopedia is also available in print at Reference RC 423 M56 2004.
Terminology of Communication Disorders.
Print Location: Reference RC 423 N52 2004 Restricted Resource Some full text available

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Communication Disorders Web Search Engine Resource contains images Some full text available

ASHA:  American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
American Academy of Audiology
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources---Maintained by the University of Iowa's Hardin Health Science Library.  Some sample entries are Neurology, Otolaryngology, and Speech Pathology.
Mayo Clinic - Tools for Healthier Lives
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)---NIH division for biomedical and behavioral research in human  communication, which supports and conducts research on the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language.

Search the above web sites using the box below.

Google Custom Search

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files