The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 2900 current nursing and health journals back to 1981+. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being indexed. 2-4 simultaneous users.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Print Location: Reference HV1553 E56 2009
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Print Location: Reference HV1568 .E528 2006
Disability.gov is the U.S. federal government website for information on disability programs and services nationwide.
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Also available as a print book:
General Collection HV1568.2 .H36 2001
Author: Smith, Phil
Imprint: N.Y.: Peter Lang, 2013
Location: Third Floor LC 4031 S68 2013
Author: Wu, Cynthia
Imprint: Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2012
Location: Third Floor PS 217 C63 W8 2012
Author: Stebers, Tobin
Imprint: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2010
Location: Second Floor HV 1588.2 S535 2010
Editor: Mark Priestley
Imprint: N.Y.: Cambridge University Press, 2001
Location: Second Floor HV 1568 D5673 2001
Imprint: Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007.
Location: 2nd Floor HV 1568 D5687 2007
Author: Baglieri, Susan
Imprint: N.Y.: Routledge, 2012
Location: LC 4019 B276 2012
Author: Simi Linton
Imprint: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006
Location: Second Floor HV 3013 L56 A3 2006
Author: Alice Domurat Dreger
Imprint: Cambridge, MA.: Harvard University Press, 2004
Location: Third Floor RG 626 D74 2005
Author: Serlin, David
Imprint: Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004
Location: 3rd Floor R 856 S457 2004
Imprint: Toronto: Canadian Scholars Press, 2009.
Location: 2nd Floor HV 1568.2 R48 2009
Author: Rachel Simon
Imprint: N.Y.: Grand Central Publishers, 2012
Location: Third Floor PS 3569 I4845 S78 2012
Author: Johnson, Harriet McBryde
Imprint: N.Y.: Picador, 2006
Location: 2nd Floor HV 3013 J65 A3 2005
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
The Disability History Association (DHA) is an international non-profit organization that promotes the study of disabilities. This includes, but is not limited to, the history of individuals or groups with disabilities, perspectives on disability, representations/ constructions of disability, policy and practice history, teaching, theory, and Disability and related social and civil rights movements.
The Disability History Museum aims to provide all site visitors, people with and without disabilities, researchers, teachers and students, with a wide array of tools to help deepen their understanding of human variation and difference, and to expand appreciation of how vital to our common life the experiences of people with disabilities have always been.
The National Center for Physical Activity and Disability (NCHPAD) has many helpful factsheets and video clips on their website.
The Society for Disability Studies (SDS) is a scholarly organization that is dedicated to the cause of promoting disability studies as an academic discipline.
Disability & Society
Disability Studies Quarterly
Journal of Disability Policy Studies
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files