The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. This is a quick start guide for Zotero.
Lesson Plans for Teaching Writing -published by National Council of Teachers of English - General Collection LB1631L413 2007
Items coming up in catalog with search "teaching writing" and "council of teachers of english"
Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 4048
When searching on TruSearch, be sure to use filters to refine your search.
When doing a JSTOR or Project Muse search, use the Advanced Search to search in particular journals - English Journal, College English, College Composition and Communication, Research in the Teaching of English, English Education, Language Arts, and Phi Delta Kappan.
Do a search on the NCTE.org site and limit to journals.
Search the National Writing Project for resources on Teaching Writing - https://www.nwp.org/cs/public/print/resource_topic/teaching_writing
Search for current articles (1994-present) on Phi Delta Kappan ( also known as Kappan) through Academic Search Complete.
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk