TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,  and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
EconLit Restricted Resource openURL
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers.  Four simultaneous users.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of NBER Working Papers,1994 to the present.  Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the newspaper from 1984 to the present.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists Restricted Resource

An extensive guide to economists both past and present, providing biographical, bibliographical and critical information on over 100 economists working in the non-neoclassical traditions broadly defined.


Who's Who In Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
An extensive and authoritative guide to the most frequently cited academic economists from throughout the world.

Data/Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistical information in all areas of labor and economics.
Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
China Data Online. 1949+ Restricted Resource Some full text available
Historical statistics as well as monthly and yearly macro-economic data from the China Data Center.  Password needed.  Inquire at the Reference Desk.
CIA World Factbook
Contains extensive information on all the countries of the world.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/


CIA World Factbook Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains extensive information on all the countries of the world.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/


Data @ NBER - the National Bureau of Economic Research
Listing of sources from the Public Use Data Archive link in the NBER Working Papers database.

Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Data.gov includes searchable catalogs that provide access to "raw" datasets and various tools. In the "raw" data catalog, you may access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats. The catalog of tools links you to sites that include data mining and extraction tools and widgets. Datasets and tools available on Data.gov are searchable by category, agency, keyword, and/or data format.
FedStats
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. Sources are listed by both statistical agency and within an A-Z topic list.
FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FRED® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed to answer questions about the makeup, purpose, use and availability of economic indicators in a broad sense of the term, this book includes entries on 284 indicators, 137 of which are new to this edition. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, and where one can find further information about them.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Restricted Resource
Economic and social statistics of the countries in the world, collected by the United Nations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
UN Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available

A comprehensive collection of entries, essays, and primary source documents emphasizing the importance of economic policy in all aspects of life in the United States.


Collins Dictionary of Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available

Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive reference work introducing the reader to the major concepts and leading contributors in the field of Keynesian economics.
Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A reference source on macroeconomics, embracing definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and the contributions of major thinkers. Contains hundreds of short entries and more than 100 specially commissioned main entries from an internationally renowned group of scholars.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and guidebooks, organized by subject area
The Elgar Companion to Feminist Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes timely entries addressing key concepts in feminist economics as well as feminist economic critiques and reconstructions of major economic theories and policy debates.

Government Information

Budget of the United States Government
Collection of documents relating to each annual federal budget, going back to 1996.  Includes the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Different sets of related publications and supporting materials are included from year to year.
Congressional Budget Office
Website of the federal agency providing the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process as well as objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on programs covered by the federal budget.
Economic Report of the President
An overview of the president's budget policies and economic outlook for a given year.
GAO (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
Testimony and reports on a variety of topics from teh investigative arm of Congress.

Government Documents Guide
Listing of sites relating to government at all levels.  Categories include executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government, historical documents, Missouri documents, and United Nations and European Union.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1993+
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week.  Can be browsed or searched by keyword.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Social Explorer Restricted Resource
An interactive database providing access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present.  Includes over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports taken from census data.
Evaluating Sources
An overview of criteria to consider when evaluation web sources for credibiility.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Dan McGurk

Dan McGurk
Reference & Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 4528

Helpguides