SubjectsPlus: Education

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for nearly 520 high-quality education journals.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
A free EBSCO database, indexing/abstracting database to approximately 280 popular periodicals and 1,300 book chapters related to K-12 education.  Users may save, e-mail, or download citations and abstracts.  Some full-text articles will be available because of our subscriptions to other EBSCO databases.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource openURL
On the Web through EBSCO.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL)
Microform Location: Microfiche Cabinet 3, Drawer 8-10 Restricted Resource
 KCDL is a collection of curriculum guides from all over North America, reproduced on microfiche.  Click here for a detailed description of this set.

Data/Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

Condition of Education.
Print Location: Reference L 112 C65 Restricted Resource

Digest of Education Statistics.
Print Location: Reference L 11 D48a Restricted Resource

Education Indicators: An international perspective.
Print Location: Reference L 112 E34 1996 Restricted Resource

Education Statistics of the United States.
Print Location: Reference LB 201 E38 Restricted Resource

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of education.
Print Location: Reference LB 15 E43 2003 Restricted Resource

World education encyclopedia
Print Location: Reference LB 15 W67 2002 Restricted Resource

Government Information

Education Commission of the States
nonpartisan, nonprofit interstate compact created by the states and the U.S.Congress that helps governors, legislators, state education officials, business leaders and others identify, develop and implement public policies to improve student learning at all levels. The ECS website is the nation's most extensive website devoted to education policy.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE)
Provides access to a collection of electronic educational resources produced by 49 different federal agencies. 
Missouri School Directory.
Print Location: Reference L 9903 M5 M5 Restricted Resource
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library  has over 300 online academic and licensing practice tests including SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, Advanced Placement, civil service, military, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, TOEFL, ESL and basic skills for elementary, middle and high school skills. Test preparation materials span ages from elementary through adult.

You must register to create a personal account to view resources and take tests.

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Ethemes

eThemes is your source for content-rich, kid-safe online resources that will help enhance your teaching and save you time. eThemes provides free, fast access to over 2,500 collections of websites, on topics ranging from Aerodynamics to Zebras and everything in between!

 


Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Tips
The Curriculum Library, on the second floor of Pickler Memorial Library, contains a collection of textbooks used in the public schools and a collection of children's books.  These are all listed in the Library Catalog.  You can search for children's books by author, title, keyword, or children's subject heading
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files