SubjectsPlus: Exercise Science

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
PubMed Central Some full text available
Full text of life science research articles.
Sportscience Resource contains images Some full text available
Peer-reviewed journal and a website that includes information on sports medicine, nutrition and training.

SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS).  Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies.
Print Location: Reference GV 567 E48 2006 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Covers sports medicine, sport science, the social science of sport, and sports engineering and technology.

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine.
Print Location: Reference RC 1206 E53 2011 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers prevention, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries

Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine:
Print Location: Reference RC 1206 O94 2006 Restricted Resource Some full text available

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

OregonPDF - Kinesiology Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available

This is an index to theses in exercise science. Pickler Library has the actual theses on microfiche. It is called Health, Physical Education and Recreation Microform Publications. They were compiled by the University of Oregon. The early years were called Microform Publications Bulletin. Ceased publication in 2006. Some of these are digitized. at OregonPDF.


OregonPDF - Kinesiology Publications
Microform Location: http://207.160.154.40/record=b1713808 Restricted Resource Some full text available

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Sports Science Center Some full text available
Contains articles on hydration, sports nutrition, training, performance, medical conditions, sports injuries, and youth in sports.  Created by the Gatorade Sports Science Institute

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files