SubjectsPlus: French

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Persée Restricted Resource Some full text available
Established by the ministère de l'éducation nationale, Persée provides full-text access to the back files of French journals in the social and human sciences.  The interface is available in both French and English.
Revues.org Some full text available
Full-text access to French journals in the social and human sciences.  It is possible to search all journals or a specific title.
ARTFL Project, Some full text available
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
L'Année Philologique Online Restricted Resource
 L' Année philologiqueis a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique


LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
French XX Bibliography
Print Location: Reference PQ 305 F7

Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue française.
Print Location: General Collection PC2580 .B55 2002 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture.
Print Location: Reference DC33.7 .E53 1998 Restricted Resource

Le Grand Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise.
CD-ROM Location: CD-ROM workstation across from the Printer/Photocopier area Restricted Resource


Guide to French literature.
Print Location: Reference PQ 41 L48 1992 Restricted Resource

Oxford-Hachette French desk dictionary.
Print Location: Reference PC2640 .O937 1996 Restricted Resource

The new Oxford companion to literature in French.
Print Location: Reference PQ41 .N49 1995 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

ABU: La Bibliothèque Universelle
a digital library of French texts in the public domain.  It includes 288 texts by 101 authors.  Access to specific works is available through a keyword search as well as alphabetical author and title indexes.

Athena
Provides full-text access to works in French by French and Francophone authors, and translations of foreign works into French.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
Electronic Text Center
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English

Gallica (Bibliothèque Nationale de France)
access to 90,000 texts and hours of audio files, covering a time period ranging from the Middle Ages to the 19th century

Primary Sources

World Digital Library

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
The American Council  on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
American Translators Association
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems

Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University

The Center of Language Education and Research (CLEAR) at Michigan State University was established in 1996 as a Language Resource Center (LRC) through a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education. As an LRC, CLEAR strives to promote and support the teaching and learning of foreign languages in the United States through its various projects and outreach activities.


Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
 The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
Ethnologue
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page
offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.

iLoveLanguages
a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.

Lexicool
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.

Modern Language Association Language Map
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.

Portals to the World - France
links to Web sites covering a wide range of subject areas (maintained by the Library of Congress)

radio-locator
A list of radio stations on the internet

UCLA Language Materials Project
provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.

Word Reference.com
Superior translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.