TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

Best Bets
  • SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
  • Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. REF HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2006 (3 vols.) Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online academic journal.   "Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality."    There is  a search box the user can use for locating specific articles on a topic.  Full text of articles in pdf and html formats.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text access to over 50 journals of the American Psychological Association (APA).
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, and Spirit: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Lore.
Print Location: REF BL 795 .H6 C65 1997
Click here for Table of Contents
Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia.
Print Location: General HQ 76.2 .U5 H65 1999

Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.13 .P76 2008
        About the Center, Mission, etc.
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.25 .E53 1990 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2006 (3 vols.)

Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.15 .E63 2000 v. 2

Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.5 .H86 1999

Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.16 .E63 v. 1

Handbooks & Guides

Advocate College Guide for LGBT Students.
Print Location: REF LC 2574.6 .W56 2006

Handbook of the Sociology of Gender.
Print Location: General HQ 1075 .C47 1999
Click here for Table of Contents

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

Specialized Sources

Beyond Straight and Gay Marriage: Valuing All Families Under the Law.
Print Location: General Collection KF538 .P65 2008

Gay Religion.
Print Location: General BL 625.9 .G39 G39 2005
Click here for Table of Contents
Harvey Milk Institute Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Internet Research.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.25 .H375 2002
Click here for Table of Contents
Queer America: A GLBT History of the 20th Century.
Print Location: General HQ 76.3 .U5 E35 2008

Almost Myself: Reflections on Mending & Transcending Gender.
Print Location: Media DVD HQ 77.7 .A46 2007 Restricted Resource

This is a documentary film.  Click here for summary.


Times of Harvey Milk.
Print Location: Media Video HQ 76.8 .U5 T56 1986 Restricted Resource
This is a documentary film on VHS.

Web Sites

Answers to Your Questions About Transgender. . .
From the American Psychological Association, answers to questions related to gender identity
Answers to Your Questions For a Better Understanding of Sexual Orientation. . .
From the American Psychological Association,  answers to questions related to homosexuality and sexual oriention.
Attitudes about Homosexuality and Gay Marriage
Data gathered from the American Enterprize Institute, Studies in Public Opinion, from December, 2008
Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture.
"The world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture." --glbtq home page
Genders
Free online journal of essays and articles on gender and sexuality and how they relate to social, political and artistic issues.    This site has some some excellent essays on a variety of gender issues, written by professors and researchers from many colleges and universities.  However, the editorial process for accepting papers may not be as rigorous as in more established journals in the field which libraries might subscribe to.  That said, it is still  an excellent starting point for investigating these topics.
Sexual Orientation: Science, Education, and Policy
This is a site containing works by Dr. Gregory Herek, an internationally recognized authority on sexual prejudice, hate crimes, and AIDS stigma.  Dr. Herek's goal is to "promote the use of scientific knowledge for education and public policy related to sexual orientation and HIV/AIDS."
The Gay Peoples Union Collection
". . .diverse online body of primary resources covering the LGBT activist history of Milwaukee created as part of the University of Wisconsin Digital Collection. . .covers the period 1970 to 1984.  It centers on the internal records and publications of one of the first gay activist organizations to form in the city of Milwaukee in the 1970s (and one still extant today). . .Features include a complete run of the newspaper GPU News from 1971 to 1981. .  .absence of links to other comparable archival resources on the LGBT history such as Chicago's Gerber/Hart Library. . .or the Quatrefoil Library in St. Paul. . .is the only major flaw in an otherwise excellently presented resource. . .Highly recommended."  Ridinger, R.B.M., Northern Illinois University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Oct. 2009. Web. 9 Aug. 2012.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785- 7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files