SubjectsPlus: Genealogy & Local History

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Index
Microform Location: Micro Newspapers
Truman State University's school newspaper. Issued weekly  when school is in session.
Online archive at: 
http://index.truman.edu/ 

Index-Truman State University's Student Newspaper
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kirksville Newspapers

This page provides information about Kirksville Newspapers at Pickler Memorial Library


Trudex
Index to Truman publications including:
  • Northeast Review
  • Purple Pride
  • Kirksville Daily Express (selected issues)
  • Index
  • Pundit
  • Echo
  • Nemoscope Notes
  • Northeast Today
  • Bite This!
  • Truman Today
  • Truman Review

Government Information

Availability of Census Records about Individuals Some full text available
A publication of the Census Bureau which explains what is available in the census materials.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Specialized Sources

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s. 

The collection consists of six core data sets:

  • U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. In total the collection covers more than 140 million names.
  • Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Titles have been digitized from our own renowned microform collections, as well from the American Antiquarian Society via an exclusive partnership.
  • Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by the Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.
  • Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.
  • Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
  • LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Tips
Search the Library's catalog for:

County histories, maps, records of births/marriages/deaths/cemeteries, etc. in Northeast Missouri:

Adair

Linn

Ralls

Audrain

Livingston

Randolph

Carroll

Macon

Schuyler

Chariton

Marion

Scotland

Clark

Mercer

Shelby

Grundy

Monroe

Sullivan

Knox

Pike

 

Lewis

Putnam

 












Also look for other counties or names of individual towns in the
Library Catalog:
    e.g.:  edina mo
             boone county mo