TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Cambridge encyclopedia of the world's ancient languages.
Print Location: Reference P371 C357 2004 Restricted Resource

Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology.
Print Location: Reference BL715 M37 1999 Restricted Resource

Classical Studies: a guide to the reference literature.
Print Location: Reference PA 91 J45 1996 Restricted Resource

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities.
Print Location: General Collection DE5 S6 1973 Restricted Resource

Greek and Latin authors, 800 B. C. - A. D. 1000.
Print Location: Reference PA 31 G7 Restricted Resource

Greek and Roman architecture.
Print Location: General Collection NA 260 R6 1969 Restricted Resource

Greek-English Lexicon.
Print Location: Reference PA445 E5 L6 1996 Restricted Resource

Handbook of Greek art .
Print Location: General Collection N 5630 R49 1967 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
Electronic Text Center
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible

Internet Classics Archive
Collection of ancient texts, primarily Greek and Latin.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
at Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
The American Council  on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
American Translators Association
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems

Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University

The Center of Language Education and Research (CLEAR) at Michigan State University was established in 1996 as a Language Resource Center (LRC) through a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education. As an LRC, CLEAR strives to promote and support the teaching and learning of foreign languages in the United States through its various projects and outreach activities.


Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
 The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
Ethnologue
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page
offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.

Greek Mythology Link
The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of myths retold by Carlos Parada, author of Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology, published in 1993  The GML contains texts, images, tables and maps. The mythical accounts are based exclusively on ancient sources.

iLoveLanguages
a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.

Lexicool
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.

radio-locator
A list of radio stations on the internet

UCLA Language Materials Project
provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.

Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.


Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Tips

The Loeb Classical Library, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.  Click here for a listing of titles from the Loeb Classical Library available in Pickler Memorial Library.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files