TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

British women's history : a documentary history from the Enlightenment to World War I
Print Location: HQ1596 .B75 2007

Colonial Discourses - Series 1: Women, Travel & Empire, 1660-1914
Print Location: Microfilm PN 6071 W72 C64 1998
A microfilm collection of early travel accounts by women and women's experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada. Focus on British women writers.
Guide to the collection: http://library.truman.edu/microforms/colonial_discourses.asp
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 Restricted Resource Some full text available

A digitized collection focusing on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. The wide range of original sources include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. The collections and contextual essays by leading scholars are grouped into these five main themes:

  • Conduct and Politeness
  • Domesticity & the Family
  • Consumption & Leisure
  • Education & Sensibility
  • The Body

Parish Register Typescripts
Print Location: Microfilm CD 1068 A2 C53 1969
This collection has two parts. One part is the Parish Register Typescripts (Microfilm CD 1068 A2 C53 1969). This part contains copies of church records--marriages, baptisms and burials--from the 16th to the 19th centuries from parishes in London, the Midlands and Southern counties of England.

Guide: http://library.truman.edu/microforms/parish_register_typescripts.asp

The other part is Parish Records, Churchwarden Accounts and Vestry Minutes. (Microfilm CD 1068 A2 P3).  It is a microfilm of a manuscript.  It has no guide.


Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008 Restricted Resource
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases: 
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper Source
Working Class Autobiographies from the British Library, London
Print Location: Microfilm HD 8393 A1 W67 1986
This collection is based upon The autobiography of the working class: an annotated critical bibliography edited by John Burnett, David Vincent, and David Maynell and reflects the rich variety of life and personal experience of the nineteenth century working class in Great Britain selected from autobiographies from the British Library, London.  Part One contains 103 different works and extracts from individual autobiographies for the period 1792-1889, and Part Two contains 65 different works and extracts from individual autobiographies for the period 1890-1920. These autobiographies include military and maritime adventures, spiritual memoirs, thieves tales, and accounts of self-improvement and the pursuit of knowledge.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files