The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Print Location: General Collection BP133 .K37 1983
Print Location: Reference DS37 .E523
A 13 volume set originally published in 1960.
Continued by Encyclopaedia of Islam Three: Reference DS37 .E5232. 2007+
Print Location: Reference HQ 1170 .E53 2003 (6 vols.)
eBook from ebrary
Print Location: General Collection BP40 .O95 2003
Print Location: Reference DS35.53 .O96 2009
Print Location: Reference DS 35.53 O95 1995 (4 vols.)
Available as an eBook through EBSCO
Print Location: Reference DS35.53 .I86 2004 (3 vols)
Print Location: General Collection BP173.7 .O945 2013
Print Location: General Collection BP89 .C56 2003
Print Location: General CollectionBP109 .D76 2013
Print Location: General Collection BP50 .O95 1999
Print Location: General Collection BP42 .T43 2003
2011 edition availabe as eBook available through eBrary
Print Location: General Collection BP163 .E85 2002
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Cross searchable with U.S. History In Context
"Hosted by the Middle East Institute, this web site is essentially the elctronic version of the author's book of the same title (1985)." As such, it reads as a book which makes it easy to navigate. The author, (De Paul Univ. College of Law), is an expert on Islamic and criminal law. . . The site provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of Islam. . .rise and spread of Islam, basic tenets and teachings, social and legal systems, and arts and culture. The addition of color photographs and pertinent Arabic/English quotes from the Qur'an enhance the usability of this resource. . . Amid many internet resources on Islam, this site stands out as an excellent one. . . Highly recommended." Kraima, A.A., Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Choice Reviews Online. Supp 2003. Web. 28 Aug. 2012.
Associate Dean of Libraries for Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 7418