Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Using U.S. Census data from 1790-1960, this site allows you to :
- Examine state and county topics for individual census years as well as over time.
- Produce tables of state and county data
- Generate maps of selected data
The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
- America's Historical Imprints
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 1 (2009 ETC); Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 2 (2009 ETC); Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 3 (2009 ETC); Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 4 (2009 ETC) and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Provides online access to approximately 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
Contains more than 320 historical religious and denominational newspapers from 33 U.S. states published between 1799-1900, including many major denominations. Articles reflect American religion as a dominant cultural and social force, shaping views on slavery, politics, women's suffrage, Prohibition, westward expansion, and other great issues of the day.
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Links to all kinds of newspapers, old and new.
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present. Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.
Users can search for articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range. Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.
Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.
*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases:
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material.
Relevant collections include:
You can do searches in the catalog and limit to Material Type Maps/Atlases. Here is an example:
Missouri population trends by counties 1900 to 1980
Truman Maps G4161.E24 1980 .U5
More sources can be found on the Maps and Geographic Information Systems Research Guide.
Interim Associate Dean of Libraries for Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 7418
Published Hearings (Pre-1970)
Cabinet 25 Drawer 8 - Cabinet 27 Drawer 3
Committee Prints (Pre-1970)
Cabinet 27 Drawers 4-5
Unpublished Senate Hearings (1823-1964, 1965-1968)
Cabinet 27 Drawers 6-7
Serial Set (Pre-1970)
Cabinet 27 Drawer 8 - Cabinet 28 Drawer 10
Congressional Information Services (1970-2002)
Cabinet 29 Drawer 1 - Cabinet 30 Drawer 9
For this period, documents of all types (Hearings, Committee Prints, etc.) are interfiled in this collection (along with Serial Set items), with documents retrievable by CIS number. After 1982, hearings and prints are moved to a different collection and only Serial Set items are housed here. After 2002, no new additions are made to this collection.
Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) Collection (1983+)
From 1983 onward, hearings and committee prints are interfiled with other government documents and accessed by SuDoc number (e.g. Y4 ). Serial Set items continued to be added to the CIS Collection until 2002, after which no items have been added to the Serial Set. All Congressional documents from 2003 and later are housed in the SuDoc collection.
Full Text Documents Online
Although there is no specific starting date, many documents from the last decade or so are now available freely online. You may check for these through the MOBIUS catalog or through the Catalog of Government Publications at http://catalog.gpo.gov/F
Full text of House and Senate bills from 1993 to present and summaries of bills back to 1973.