The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Includes full text of articles and papers from journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings and newletters published by the ACM and affiliated organizations.
Use the Library's Articles & Research Databases page to find other sources and databases in relevant disciplines like economics, political science etc...
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
A collection of digitized newspapers and periodicals from the 18th century. Material is drawn from London, Dublin and Edinburgh, as well as many local and provincial publications.
Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include:
- Acts by the Parliament de Paris in opposition to the French Court
- The writings of Sir Isaac Newton
- The writings of Corneille and Racine
- Pagan deities
- The waters of Buxton and other spa towns and visits to the Lake District
- Poets of the Romantic Period
- The French Revolution
- Theatrical Performances
- Reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe
- Political debates
- Coffee house gossip and discussion
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present. Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.
Users can search for articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range. Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819
Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
A digitized collection focusing on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. The wide range of original sources include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. The collections and contextual essays by leading scholars are grouped into these five main themes:
- Conduct and Politeness
- Domesticity & the Family
- Consumption & Leisure
- Education & Sensibility
- The Body
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.
*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases:
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Associate Dean of Libraries for Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 7418
In your browser, go to https://view.truman.edu/ and login with your Truman userid and password (choose the HTML access). You will have access to a virtual desktop where you can use all computer lab software (including library databases) just as if you were using a lab computer on campus.
Directions for seting up the the VPN can be found here: Virtual Private Network (VPN). For use with a high speed internet connection(e.g. cable modem or DSL)
The Libraries at Michgan State University have a great online guide covering all things Zotero -- from installation to using it with Microsoft Word to insert citations and create bibliographies:
Intro to Zotero
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files