The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 2900 current nursing and health journals back to 1981+. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being indexed. 2-4 simultaneous users.
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Full text of life science research articles.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
This survey was done by Preferred Family Healthcare Inc.Prevention Department of Kirksville, Missouri in January of 2012 with Adair County residents over age 18. The survey includes questions about how frequently people have used many different drugs. It also has questions about mental health and domestic violence.
Alongside the traditional decennial population survey, the Census Bureau has created another product called the American Community Survey or ACS. Concentrates on addressess "rather than individuals and is sent to approximately three million addresses annually." New questions concerning health insurance, veterans' disability status, and marital history. A tutorial available and is a "good place to start before using the data." According to the reviewer, the "scope and detail of the data available through the American Community Survey is essential for researchers, government, and urban planners. Highly recommended." C.W. Bruns, California State University-Fullerton. CHOICE Reviews Online. March, 2011.
Includes Adair County current substance use for Grades 6-12, 2012 data; current substance use for ages 18+ in the Central Region 2008-2010 data; substance abuse treatment in Adair County; alcohol related traffic crashes in Adair County 2012; mental health in Adair County
Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes and an index.
A detailed survey on college students behavior. Includeds detail questions on use of: alcohol; illegal drugs; tobacco. It also includes questions on race, disability, driving behavior, relationships and abuse; well-being; mental health. There are questions specific to the Truman campus. Conducted every year since 2007 by Partners in Prevention, the survey now includes 21 Missouri campuses.
Has overall health rankings by county. It also includes statistics on length of life, quality of life, health behaviors; clinical care; social and economic factors; physical environment for each county.
Missouri Information for Community Assessment (MICA) is an interactive system that allows the user to create and download tables, based on selected variables from many data files:
Community data profiles are available on various subject areas such as cause of death, chronic diseases, unintentional injuries, prenatal and others. Each community data profile table provides data on 15-30 indicators for each county/city selected. Information provided includes the number of events, county/city rate, statistical significance, quintile ranking and the state rate.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Electronic version of a very famous medical dictionary and encyclopedia.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Healthy People 2020 strives to:
- Identify nationwide health improvement priorities.
- Increase public awareness and understanding of the determinants of health, disease, and disability and the opportunities for progress.
- Provide measurable objectives and goals that are applicable at the national, State, and local levels.
- Engage multiple sectors to take actions to strengthen policies and improve practices that are driven by the best available evidence and knowledge.
- Identify critical research, evaluation, and data collection needs.
- Attain high-quality, longer lives free of preventable disease, disability, injury, and premature death.
- Achieve health equity, eliminate disparities, and improve the health of all groups.
- Create social and physical environments that promote good health for all.
- Promote quality of life, healthy development, and healthy behaviors across all life stages.
- General Health Status
- Health-Related Quality of Life and Well-Being
- Determinants of Health
Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk