Articles
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites
Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
BioMed Central 
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health

Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 2900 current nursing and health journals back to 1981+. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being indexed. 2-4 simultaneous users.
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 2900 current nursing and health journals back to 1981+. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being indexed. 2-4 simultaneous users.
Consumer Health Complete

A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
POPLINE
Population information online: abstracts of the worldwide literature on population, family planning, and related health issues.
Population information online: abstracts of the worldwide literature on population, family planning, and related health issues.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
On the Web through FirstSearch and EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
On the Web through FirstSearch and EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Dictionary of Medical Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference R 134 D57 2007

Shelf Location: Reference R 134 D57 2007
Health, United States 
Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes and an index.
Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes and an index.
Abbreviations.com 
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference

Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

Electronic version of a very famous medical dictionary and encyclopedia.
Electronic version of a very famous medical dictionary and encyclopedia.
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library

Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
Sage Dictionary of Health and Society
Shelf Location: Reference RA 418 W439 2006

Shelf Location: Reference RA 418 W439 2006
Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Centers for Disease Control 
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury, violence and safety
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury, violence and safety
MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.
National Institutes of Health 
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.
ebrary

ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Citation and Writing Guides 
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Electronic Public Health Resources 
Prepared by the Public Health Library, University of California, Berkley
Prepared by the Public Health Library, University of California, Berkley
Health Policy Picks 
"Specifically targeted to students, faculty and anyone else who may be interested in learning more about the complex US. health care system. This site features monthly reports, conference proceedings, white papers and other largely unpublished literature on health policy."
"Specifically targeted to students, faculty and anyone else who may be interested in learning more about the complex US. health care system. This site features monthly reports, conference proceedings, white papers and other largely unpublished literature on health policy."
HealthCare.gov 
The federal government website for information about health insurance: how to find it; how to use it; health care laws; a comparison of health care providers and a link for prevention and wellness.
The federal government website for information about health insurance: how to find it; how to use it; health care laws; a comparison of health care providers and a link for prevention and wellness.
HealthyPeople.gov 
Healthy People 2020 strives to:
- Identify nationwide health improvement priorities.
- Increase public awareness and understanding of the determinants of health, disease, and disability and the opportunities for progress.
- Provide measurable objectives and goals that are applicable at the national, State, and local levels.
- Engage multiple sectors to take actions to strengthen policies and improve practices that are driven by the best available evidence and knowledge.
- Identify critical research, evaluation, and data collection needs.
- Attain high-quality, longer lives free of preventable disease, disability, injury, and premature death.
- Achieve health equity, eliminate disparities, and improve the health of all groups.
- Create social and physical environments that promote good health for all.
- Promote quality of life, healthy development, and healthy behaviors across all life stages.
- General Health Status
- Health-Related Quality of Life and Well-Being
- Determinants of Health
- Disparities
INFOMINE 
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
MedlinePlus

Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files

