TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

ABC-CLIO World History Companion to the Industrial Revolution -
Print Location: Reference D359.7 .S74 1996

Biographical Dictionary of the History of Technology -
Print Location: Reference T39 B49 1996 Restricted Resource

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopaedia of the History of Technology -
Print Location: Reference T15 .E53 1996 Restricted Resource

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Print Location: Reference Q 121 M3 2007 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A multi-volume basic science encyclopedia.

Government Information

Congressional MasterFile - (part of ProQuest Congressional)

No longer a standalone CD-ROM - Indexing for 1789+ is availalbe online through Proquest Congressional
Index to congressional hearings, reports, prints from 1789-1969 provieded by CIS (Congressional Information Service). Documents are on microfiche. Some full-text is avaialble for 1980+

For Congressional activity prior to 1982, nearly all information is available on microfiche.  This is available in the microform reading room in Microfiche Cabinets 24-30.  On any index citation, note the CIS (Congressional Information Service) number, the designation for the type of document (Published Hearing, Unpublished Hearing, Committee Print, Serial-Set) and the designation of the appropriate chamber (S for Senate; H for House of Representatives).

Published Hearings (Pre-1970) (Pickler Memorial Library has complete set.)
Cabinet 24 Drawer 5 - Cabinet 25
 

Unpublished Senate Hearings (1823-1964, 1965-1968)
Cabinet 27 Drawers 1-2
 

Committee Prints (Pre-1970)
Cabinet 26 Drawers 5-6
 

Serial Set (1789-1969)
Cabinet 27 Drawer 4 - Cabinet 28 Drawer 7   


ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Primary Sources

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
American Memory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
Avalon Project
Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government..
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print -
Print Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JX832
Part I, From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the first World War

Series A   Russia 
Series B  The Near & Middle East
Series C  North America
Series D  Latin America
Series E  Asia
Series F  Europe
Series G Africa

Part II, From the First to the Second World War

Series A   Soviet Union 
Series B  Turkey, Iran & Middle East 
Series C  North America
Series D  Latin America
Series E  Asia
Series F  Europe
Series G Africa

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.


Making of America - Cornell University Some full text available
Making of America  is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Making of America at University of Michigan is a couterpart to this collection.
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Pickler Library Microforms Collections
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material. The list can be viewed alphabetically, by subject and by time period.
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008 Restricted Resource
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases: 
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper Source
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present. Some full text available
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Users can search for specific articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.  Searching is free and the full-text is available for purchase through this web site or you can use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection.
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.

Specialized Sources

Google Books Some full text available
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.  Many older books and government documents are full-text.  Shows you the closest library that owns a book.  Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418