SubjectsPlus: History

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


AnthroSource Restricted Resource Some full text available
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress. 
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Restricted Resource
A bibliography of articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, and encyclopedia entries pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 AD). This material has been collected from 10,360 publications, including 1,710 journals.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Sociological Abstracts.
Print Location: General Collection (Non-Circulating) HM 1 S67
Print index to article citations and abstracts of more than 1,900 journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Data/Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture -
Print Location: Reference DS799.23 E53 2005


Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing -
Print Location: Reference D14 .E53 1999


Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures -
Print Location: Reference G63. K874 2007


History in Dispute -
Print Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.
Pickler Library Reference Collection -
Print Location: Reference
The library has numerous subject specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources--From Medieval France to the American West and everything in between.

To find one, try a keyword search in the library catalog on your topic with the term encyclopedias:
exploration and encyclopedias

Government Information

Congressional MasterFile - (part of ProQuest Congressional)

No longer a standalone CD-ROM - Indexing for 1789+ is availalbe online through Proquest Congressional
Index to congressional hearings, reports, prints from 1789-1969 provieded by CIS (Congressional Information Service). Documents are on microfiche. Some full-text is avaialble for 1980+

For Congressional activity prior to 1982, nearly all information is available on microfiche.  This is available in the microform reading room in Microfiche Cabinets 24-30.  On any index citation, note the CIS (Congressional Information Service) number, the designation for the type of document (Published Hearing, Unpublished Hearing, Committee Print, Serial-Set) and the designation of the appropriate chamber (S for Senate; H for House of Representatives).

Published Hearings (Pre-1970) (Pickler Memorial Library has complete set.)
Cabinet 24 Drawer 5 - Cabinet 25
 

Unpublished Senate Hearings (1823-1964, 1965-1968)
Cabinet 27 Drawers 1-2
 

Committee Prints (Pre-1970)
Cabinet 26 Drawers 5-6
 

Serial Set (1789-1969)
Cabinet 27 Drawer 4 - Cabinet 28 Drawer 7   


Missouri State Publications Access Program
This is a collection of select publications from agencies throughout Missouri state government contributed by the Missouri State Library. The Missouri State Archives is the official statutory repository for print and electronic Missouri state government publications.
ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.


African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.   

America's Historical Imprints Restricted Resource
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and  broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Archive of Americana Restricted Resource
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
  • America's Historical Imprints 

    Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.

  • America's Historical Newspapers 

    Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 1 (2009 ETC); Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 2 (2009 ETC); Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 3 (2009 ETC); Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 4 (2009 ETC) and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.


Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800 Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Library Company of Philadelphia supplement collection offers nearly 1,000 rare and unique items printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation.
Early American Imprints, Series II : Supplement LCP 1801-1819 Restricted Resource Some full text available
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, most of which were not included in Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker's American Bibliography.
Searchable database of digitzed books & pamphlets published during the early part of the 19th century.
English Historical Documents Restricted Resource Some full text available
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Sources are arranged according to region or theme, eg. Egypt, or Human Origins. Scroll down the column on the left to see if your topic is covered. Try a Ctrl-F and enter a key term to see if it is mentioned on the site.
Internet Classics Archive
Collection of ancient texts, primarily Greek and Latin.
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present. Some full text available
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.

Users can search for  articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings. 
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008 Restricted Resource
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases: 
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper Source
American Memory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
American West Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A collection of digitized sources from the the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  This database contains a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources:

  • Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
     
  • The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.
  • The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.
  • Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.
  • Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.

Avalon Project
Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government..
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this site provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and from mainly ten states. Additionally, access to an invaluable directory of newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present is available. The directory can be browsed by title or searched by state, county and city, date, keyword, frequency, language, or type of newspaper. The directory usually offers comprehensive information, such as titles, alternative titles, publication places, geographic coverage, persistent links, publishers, dates of publication, descriptions, frequencies, languages, subjects, general notes, LCCN, OCLC numbers, succeeding titles, and links to holdings.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
A collection of basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 Restricted Resource Some full text available

A digitized collection focusing on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. The wide range of original sources include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. The collections and contextual essays by leading scholars are grouped into these five main themes:

  • Conduct and Politeness
  • Domesticity & the Family
  • Consumption & Leisure
  • Education & Sensibility
  • The Body

Digital Library - Truman State University Some full text available
The Truman State University Digital Library features digitized objects from the holdings of the Pickler Memorial Library Special Collections & University Archives. These include manuscripts, photographs, glass slides, vintage sheet music, and other unique and rare items. Please check back as new items and collections will be added on a continuing basis.
Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.


Early American Imprints, Series II : Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States,this database provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century -- based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker
Eighteenth Century Journals II Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection  of digitized newspapers and periodicals from the 18th century. Material is drawn from London, Dublin and Edinburgh, as well as many local and provincial publications.

Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include:

  • Acts by the Parliament de Paris in opposition to the French Court
  • The writings of Sir Isaac Newton
  • The writings of Corneille and Racine
  • Pagan deities
  • The waters of Buxton and other spa towns and visits to the Lake District
  • Poets of the Romantic Period
  • Medicines
  • The French Revolution
  • Theatrical Performances
  • Reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe
  • Political debates
  • Coffee house gossip and discussion

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.


Making of America - Cornell University Some full text available
Making of America  is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Making of America at University of Michigan is a couterpart to this collection.
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Early index to articles in published in US and British journals and magazines between 1802-1906.
Truman State University Manuscripts Collection Some full text available
Many useful primary documents in the Libary are listed on the Special Collections website.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
Print Location: Reference Z2005 H6
A subject and author index to articles published in Britian between 1824-1900 Includes an index for book reviews.

Specialized Sources

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s. 

The collection consists of six core data sets:

  • U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. In total the collection covers more than 140 million names.
  • Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Titles have been digitized from our own renowned microform collections, as well from the American Antiquarian Society via an exclusive partnership.
  • Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by the Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.
  • Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.
  • Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
  • LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.

Historical Census Browser
Using U.S. Census data from 1790-1960, this site allows you to :
  • Examine state and county topics for individual census years as well as over time.
  • Produce tables of state and county data
  • Generate maps of selected data

National Union Catalog Manuscript Collection, 1959-1993
Print Location: General Collection Z881 A1 N38
Designed as an index to assist in locating and publicizing those repositories which are open to scholars.

Social Explorer Restricted Resource
An interactive database providing access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present.  Includes over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports taken from census data.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Web Sites

Encyclopædia Iranica Restricted Resource
A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Library Information Just for....
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files