SubjectsPlus: INDV 190 SEE Program Writing Workshop

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Introduction
The resources listed on this page will help you to find information on issues currently being debated in news media and academic sources.  These sources can help you find a topic for your project and locate the information for developing arguments about them.  Opposing Viewpoints and the CQ Researcher (described below and in class) are especially useful for this.

For background on a topic, Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library both provide online access to encyclopedias, dictionaries and guide books.

The articles databases can provide more in-depth information about a topic from either a scholarly or more popular perspective.  Academic Search Complete is usually the best database to start with because it deals with all subject area and contains both popular magazinese and scholarly journals.

Finally, the Book Search will allow you to search the library catalog for books (both print and electronic) available on your topic.
Services for Undergraduates
Basics of Keyword Searching
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Opposing Viewpoints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.

Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example:  "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of  the  Opposing Viewpoint Series.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and guidebooks, organized by subject area
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Specialized Sources

CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
Print Location: REF H 35 .E352
Each volume contains a cumulative index to the issues which cover various topics such as gun control, cybercrime, prison reform, etc.

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Dan McGurk

Dan McGurk
Reference & Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 4528

TruSearch
Research Assistance Program (RAP)
About RAP
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files