SubjectsPlus: JINS 300 - Cultural Crossroads - Jerusalem

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource openURL
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
Public Affairs Index Restricted Resource

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.


SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Atlas of the Bible Restricted Resource Some full text available
"The first atlas of the Bible to treat its subject geographically rather than historically, this unique work features the main biblical sites, such as Galilee, the Judean desert and the Jerusalem hills, illustrated with colour maps. The book opens with a description of the Bible, explains how it came to be composed and how it has been transmitted to us through medieval manuscript copies and modern translations. The second section of the text provides an outline of the historical background of the Bible, from the time of Abraham to the close of the New Testament period. The third and principal section discusses the main geographical regions of the Bible and the sites within them. The history and main features of each region and site are described, and references are made throughout to incidents from the Old and New Testaments."   Atlas of the Bible. London: Andromeda, 1985. Credo Reference. Web 4 Aug. 2009.
History in Dispute -
Print Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.
Pro-And-Con Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest,  Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.

Web Sites

Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding. Some full text available
"The Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding (CMCU) strives to improve cultural relationships between the West and the Muslim world. Based at Georgetown University, the program has become internationally recognized in the field of Islamic studies through its training programs, international exchanges, and academic classes. . .Of special interest is the Islamic resources link, which pulls together Web sites of major Muslim publications, organizations, and academic programs around the world. . .Researchers will find the Islamic resources section useful, e.g., its links to Middle Eastern publications. . . Recommended."     Sproles, C.A. "The Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding."  Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. Oct. 2003. Web. 4 Aug. 2009.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files