The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship. Subjects covered include archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry, philosophy, and world religions.
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
This index provides article citations to journals and books in philosophy and related disciplines including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics,and logic. Material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, and history is also included.
Full text access to over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
This site provides "data sets and reports on cross-cultural public opinion surveys. Since its inception in 2001, the project has conducted 44 surveys, interviewing more than 90,000 people in 50 countries. . .Almost all reports include information on the sample and the data collection, and copies of the questionnaire. The most valuable part of the Web site is having access to the original data sets in SPSS format, along with the codebooks. . The reports and the data sets would be useful for cross-cultural study or for social research classes that address international political and social issues." " Highly recommended." McKinley, K.M., Cabrini College, Choice Reviews Online , Sep. 2006. Web. 8 Aug. 2012.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Print Location: REF JZ5533 .O95 2010
Distinguising Between Inferences and Assumptions
Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 4528